squidbrand
33 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
squidbrand
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a barista, STEM student, intersectional feminist, bike commuter, bouldering noob, and nonbelieving Jew.

I grew up in and around Chicago, moved to Vietnam for a year, and came to Seattle in 2011. Seattle is a lot like Hanoi except the mangosteens cost too much here.

Cooking is my favorite thing. Sometimes I bake bread.

I'm a B- photographer and an A+ camera dork. My favorites are my film cameras, all of which have been in this world longer than I have. The one I've used most is a '70s Pentax that only meters for 400 speed film due to a fall it took, with me, off a motorbike.

I believe in ethical non-monogamy but don't have time for it these days. I like to keep my profile up anyway so I can play Quickmatch on the bus like it's a video game.

I love to eat cheese, and I continue to eat cheese.
What I’m doing with my life
I've begun the slow march toward a second degree. Right now it's just prereq math and science classes, but in threeish years I hope to be working for the forces of good in some field of applied science. The current plan is to pursue a BSCE. If you know more about the implications of that than I do, please mansplain to me with no remorse, because I'm sort of going in blind.

I also put in odd hours dispensing uppers, operating highly pressurized machinery, banging metal objects on a counter, and engaging in a ritualistic process of gamified flirting.
I’m really good at
Cooking. Photography. Falling down Wikipedia rabbit holes. Looking like a total idiot on a V3 bouldering problem.
The first things people usually notice about me
Big head, big arms, big butt.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Who really reads this section? You? Alright then.

Books: CivilWarLand In Bad Decline by George Saunders, Heat by Bill Buford, Kafka On The Shore by Haruki Murakami.

Movies: Alien, Pat Garrett And Billy The Kid, Dr. Strangelove.

TV shows: Louie, Portlandia, Twin Peaks, Home Movies.

Music from a while ago: Neil Young, Charles Mingus, Three 6 Mafia, Wire, Sleater-Kinney, Buzzcocks, The Kinks, Duke Ellington.

Music from nowadays: Jessie Ware, Sharon Van Etten, Nylo, Kelela/Fade To Mind, The Holydrug Couple, Tame Impala.

Food: bún chả (a street dish from Hanoi), dim sum-style shrimp dumplings, Neapolitan pizza, caramelized onions.

Podcasts: Idle Thumbs, The Awkward Sex Show, On The Media, What A Maneuver, The Savage Lovecast, The Starters (I basically never watch sports but I do listen to an NBA podcast by a bunch of dorky Canadians).

Video games: Gone Home, EarthBound, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney, Fallout 3, Spaceteam, Thirty Flights Of Loving.
The six things I could never do without
The sun in a clear blue sky.

A sharp chef's knife.

My hot fuchsia TI-84.

A bicycle.

Temporary dorky hobbies.

My friends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Saudade, my favorite non-English word.

Cities.

Passenger rail networks.

Dystopian visions of the future.

The banality of evil.

The bone-ality of the human skeleton. (I'm sorry.)

Expensive, weird booze.

Change.
On a typical Friday night I am
Smashing garlic cloves with the flat of a cleaver. Or maybe dancing, or maybe doing homework. Probably doing homework.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I use a neti pot just about every day. My sinuses are stupid clean.

My celebrity crushes are Holly Hunter (circa Broadcast News) and Carrie Brownstein.

I have a bidet toilet seat. Life-changing.

I unapologetically pay actual, real-life money for a subscription to the WWE Network, which, if you're not familiar, is like Netflix except the only thing you get to watch on it is pro wrestling.

This profile has almost no lies.
You should message me if
You are a hyperanalytical ball of neuroses who has exquisite taste in men, spends a lot of time thinking about sunny side up eggs, and is a feared enemy of the patriarchy.
More