70Farmington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Was a caregiver for over 20 years. Now alone, ready to rebuild a life. Outside interests have included include bicycling, canoeing, skiing, hiking, tennis, theater, yoga, maintenance workouts, music, writing, politics; I'm an inactive private pilot; recently started piano lessons. Live in semi-rural Minnesota, 25 miles south of Minneapolis, on a 20 acre hobby farm, lake. Rejoined Mensa a few years ago and am an area coordinator and state treasurer. I consider myself fairly intelligent, fairly literate, and can converse and write on a rather diverse number of subjects.

Made a revelatory-seeming four-day totally silent retreat, now make one each year -- incredibly enriching; working now at re-establishing a faith that once had me very close to the priesthood. I was married, "outside the Church", as they say, but had drifted from the Faith before then.

Think I have reasonable strength of character, sense of humor; accepting of others; fairly sound intellectually and emotionally. Willing to accept others at face value, participate in their interests. I take good care of myself, with a careful diet, strenuous exercise; I could and would joyfully participate in helping raise an existing or new child.

Not at all sure why I'm doing this; hope to run into someone equally off-plumb, I guess... who might want to communicate somehow, participate in activities I enjoy... and I want to learn of and enjoy what that someone prefers.

Personal site:



I am loving, caring, and interested.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a manufacturer's representative, specializing in healthcare-related furniture. This evolved out of workplace ergonomics-related activities, which in turn evolved out of marketing and management consulting... and that developed to allow officing out of the home, so that caregiving could be accommodated. The caregiving need has ended, but the freedom and satisfaction of working essentially for oneself (except for the hundreds of outside influences -- clients) keeps me doing what I do.

Non-work activities include reading, writing (both in a myriad of non-fiction areas) and things mentioned above, in the "self-summary".
I’m really good at
Working with people... trying to be a help to them when asked.

Sensing what another needs and is concerned about.

Problem solving, alone or in groups.
The first things people usually notice about me
I suspect that I am forthcoming, honest, welcoming to nearly anyone, find the positive wherever I can. Goofy smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Bell Hooks, "All About Love"
Gabor Mate, "Scattered"
Ken Wilber, "A Brief History of Everything"
Thomas Merton, "No Man is an Island"
David Whyte, "Fire in the Earth"
Shakespeare's "Sonnets"

... but I read jelly jars

Am alone, and movies are a "couples" thing to me, but:

"One, Two, Three" (great Cagney comedy)

"The Russians are Coming..."

"Dr Strangelove"

"A Beautiful Life"


Six things I could never do without
Love. and the ability to love
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The human condition, and how we got that way
On a typical Friday night I am
Varies totally, but involves others as much as possible
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
To raise a child is to participate in the greatest genuine miracle.
You should message me if
You sense a kindred spirit
The two of us