31 Scarborough, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a recent (as in a year ago) college grad looking to meet new people. I've lived in Maine all my life but have only been to Boston a few times... I know, it's crazy... I would love to get suggestions on musical hotspots, coffee shops, and other-hole-in-the-wall places. I've been intrigued by the concept of pen-pals so if you're far away, drop me a line if you feel inclined. :) I enjoy writing letters and don't have much opportunity, besides thank-you letters heh... Contra dancing is my drug of choice, teaching is my life blood, and looking young is who I am (:P) How about some Irish music and step dancing? Or better yet, a long gypsy and swing or waltz - contra dance lingo...

I am compassionate, optimistic, and hard-working
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working at a daycare with mostly preschool and pre-k children and I start my ed. tech. job at the end of August. I'll being working in math support with K-2. Yay! I'm definitely looking forward to working with school age children. :)
I’m really good at
Contra dancing- I mean, I'm decent lol... being an open ear when someone needs it, and finishing work that needs to get done (although that means at times I'm NOT very good at getting a sane amount of sleep)... Oh, and apparently I give amazing back massages according to one of my friends. Giving back massages actually relaxes me too so I'm happy to volunteer to rub tired muscles lol... I'm a good speller and I have a good vocabulary and according to a careers test I took recently, I have a personality that's "too good to be true" haha... You can be the judge of that *smiles.*
The first things people usually notice about me
I look like I'm about 18 (I looked younger without my somewhat recent hair cut) but "I'm 23, and yes, I did graduate from college, and yes, I'm used to people thinking I'm quite young." In first appearances, I can seem youthful - I am very enthusiastic and my love of life and learning can seem young - however, I am very goal-oriented and focused on achieving my career goals and finally getting that teaching job. (The job I'll be starting in the fall is an excellent foot-in-the-door to a classroom teaching position).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, Pride and Prejudice, The Great Gatsby, The Secret Life of Bees, Catcher in the Rye

Movies: Kolya, Pirates of the Carribean, Love Actually, The Lion King, Finding Neverland, Whale Rider, Chocolat, Sense and Sensibility, Back to the Future, the Harry Potter movies, Finding Nemo, 10 Things I Hate About You

Music: Giant Robot Dance, Nightingale, Perpetual E-Motion, Big Bandemonium, Airdance, Crowfoot, Riverdance and Lord of the Dance soundtracks, Lord of the Rings soundtrack, Pirates of the Carribean soundtrack, some Teddy Geiger and Keith Urban, Wild Asparagus, Great Big Sea, Einstein's Little Hommunculus, Wake the Neighbors, The Beatles, Peter, Paul and Mary, Sunny Days by Jars of Clay, Le Vent du Nord, Suroit, Altan, Dervish, Natalie MacMaster, Wicked soundtrack

Food: Chocolate, cucumbers, asparagus, tofu, Indian curry, Chinese food, Thai food
The six things I could never do without
My family, my friends, my education, contra dancing, my cell phone, and love.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
When will I meet that special guy? Where is the next good contra dance? What friends will I see at the contra dance? Contra dancing is on my mind a lot... I do tend to zone out at times too though *smiles*.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out at home, hanging out with my family, or out to dinner with friends. If I'm not working on Saturday and there's a good contra dance in Greenfield, I may travel to MA for the dance, but that's a rare occasion - it is kinda far and gas does amount...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have only been in two relationships, and I have never been in love, although I was almost to that point in my most recent relationship. I have been single for over a year and a half now, just going with the flow, but with my eyes open for new possibilities. :)
You should message me if
You want to know about contra dancing, you enjoy random conversation, you are in the teaching profession, or you like coffee, tea, or cocoa and would like to chat in person some time. Or, if you feel like going contra dancing. :)