stina2011
26 Los Angeles, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
stina2011
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Chicago transplant out in LA for grad school. Currently living in Culver City with the two best roommates and the two best dogs! I take everything with a healthy dose of skepticism and snark but try to keep a pretty positive outlook overall. In my free time I like to knit, cook, and play guitar. I've recently gotten into climbing - wanna be my belay partner? :)
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working on a PhD in Developmental Psychology at UCLA. After that, I hope to go into academia and do research on language development in bilingual babies and toddlers.
I’m really good at
puns, making people laugh, musical endeavors, double entendres, sarcasm, MarioKart, nerding out
The first things people usually notice about me
probably that I'm saying something snarky
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I'm generally into sci-fi/fantasy - anything by Tamora Pierce, Terry Brooks, Terry Pratchett, etc. Too many to list here - ask if you'd like to know more!

Movies: 10 Things I Hate About You, Easy A, Mean Girls, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, things starring Amanda Bynes, documentaries

TV Shows: Broad City, Gilmore Girls, Archer, OITNB, Arrested Development, The West Wing, Pretty Little Liars, Portlandia, Doctor Who, Eureka, Pushing Daisies, Chuck, Parks and Rec, 30 Rock, Firefly, Dollhouse, Buffy, How I Met Your Mother... give me some witty dialogue and I will be a happy camper.

Music: Robyn, Taylor Swift, Sara Bareilles, Ellis, Coyote Grace Jack's Mannequin, Damien Rice, Death Cab For Cutie, Passion Pit, Girl Talk, Queen, Nada Surf, OK Go

Food: I love sushi, Mexican, Thai, Colombian, Greek... I'll try just about anything, so long as it's gluten-free!

People: Mallory Ortberg.
The six things I could never do without
Friends/family, books, music, Google Scholar (sigh, I know...), my phone, and Trader Joe's.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How behind I am on The Toast, my research, what to make for dinner, traveling, the patriarchy, gender fuckery, Hamilton
On a typical Friday night I am
At the Wilde Thistle enjoying live music and a cider, at the rock gym, orrrrr playing video games.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I really enjoy reading (good, well-written) YA novels. I don't know if that's "private," per se, but it's something most people don't know about me!

I sometimes (often) confuse Missy Higgins with Missy Elliot. Same goes for Melissa Etheridge and Michelle Branch.

Also, my roommates recently got me to start playing League of Legends with them. So there's that.
You should message me if
you want to have adventures, you can appreciate a good pun, or if you just think we'd get along! I'm looking just as much for queer community as I am for someone to maybe make out with. Bonus points if you're kinky.
More