69Rockville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a progressive from the '60s, now into my own 60s, but hanging on to values of yesteryear. I’m still marching, e-mailing, and trying to set things right (left). I expect to continue to be active (politically and in all aspects of life) for a long time. My mother lived to be 97 and like her I look at least 10 years younger than my actual age and expect to live into my 90s.

My friends describe me as active, engaged, caring, optimistic, and always there for them. I am warm, compassionate, and a hopeless romantic. Activities I enjoy include going out to dinner, quiet evenings at home with someone special, live theater, movies, photography, reading, traveling and sight-seeing, especially exploring new places ranging from cities to wilderness. I also enjoy walks in the woods, river rafting, and kayaking. I love waterfalls and sunsets.

I've been divorced for several years and am ready to meet new people, make new friends, and hopefully enjoy a new longterm, relationship. I hope to meet someone who is gentle, kind, loving, shares some of my interests, has a good sense of humor, and a love of adventure.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm retired and after enjoying a career as a children’s librarian I still substitute in the libraries as needed. This gives me the best of both worlds - some work and freedom to travel and be involved in other activities. I've been as far west as California and as far east as Turkey. Watching the sunrise over Cappadocia, Turkey from a hot air balloon was absolutely amazing!

I have also done some volunteer work on political campaigns and on issues (peace, environment, gay marriage, etc.), and hope to do more. I go to the gym a few times a week for exercise, and would like to get there more often. Meanwhile...I'm hoping to try a number of new things over the next 30 or so years - - any suggestions?
I’m really good at
Seeking new adventures, listening, and helping when someone needs help. Long term friendships -- I have friends from childhood, college, grad school, and various places I have lived over the years. I'm also good at cooking and photography.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not sure. Tell me what you notice.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a mix of non-fiction and fiction for adults and children - favorites change as I read new books.

I enjoy movies but don't see as many as I would like. A new favorite is Chasing Ice in part for how well it depicts the the issue of global warming but equally for the amazing photography. Some old favorites are Singin' In The Rain, Wizard of Oz, an old black and white version of A Christmas Carol, and Inherit the Wind. More recent movies -- Lincoln, Milk, Good Night and Good Luck, Slumdog Millionaire, The King's Speech, Iron Lady, Les Miserables, Philomena, and more. Theater/musicals La Cage Aux Folles, Fiddler On The Roof, Sound Of Music, Book of Mormon...
Music -- Folk (American, Irish, Other) especially 1960s protest songs, Classical, Beatles, Tom Lehrer, and almost anything that is not too loud. I'm always happy to listen to something new (to me).

I like a variety of foods -- Chinese, Vietnamese, Italian, Mexican, fruit, veggies, and chocolate. As of 2011 I am a vegetarian, so far I'm doing well. I'll try most things that are not too spicy. I'm non judgmental and don't expect you to be vegetarian.
Six things I could never do without
Travel with my camera
Communications devices -- telephone and computer

Many years ago when I was river rafting and camping I realized that luxury was a latrine that was not a long walk from the campsite and necessity was a warm sweater on a cold night.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I want to be when I grow up.

My son in Colorado and my 3 honorary grandchildren who live in California.

I still think about possibility of a new longterm relationship which will include both love and fun-filled adventures.

The environment. Things that are happening in the world and being concerned about the direction in which our country is moving especially the current crop of Republicans.
On a typical Friday night I am
No typical Friday night - it varies from week to week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ask me and I might tell you when I get to know you.
You should message me if
You are a warm, caring, honest, compassionate, intelligent man who is also a good listener and has a good sense of humor. You want a combination of quiet times together, travel, fun, and maybe adventure. My profile appeals to you. You would like to talk and explore the possibility of meeting.
The two of us