64Naples, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First, I am the proud father of two daughters. They are aged 30 and 25, and are the loves of my life. The youngest keeps me young, and the oldest makes me gray! Or sometimes the other way around! The oldest has attending Santa Fe College in IT, but now wants to switch to Accounting or Insurance or something like that. She's moved to Naples and is a server at a local County Club. She can be a challenge. The youngest graduated high school in 2010, is working as a Child Care teacher, and is living in Gainesville. I've been separated since 2000, and waited till 2007 for the divorce to be finalized, largely because of the girls. I was married for 25 years.

I moved to Florida in 2006 from the Virginia suburbs of Washington, DC, where I'd lived for 25 years. Lived in a small town near Gainesville for 8 years, and just recently moved to Marco Island/Naples to retire. I had been involved in several entrepreneurial ventures, including real estate, home building, computers, and financial advising.

I'm becoming more familiar with the many wonders of Southwest Florida, including the beaches, canoeing and kayaking. I do love the water, be it a lake, river, spring or ocean. In Marco/Naples, it is even better. It is, after all, the source of all life. Either coast would be fine for me, and luckily, neither is too far away. I also have a condo in St. Thomas that I go to several times a year, right on the water. I do love to travel, particularly to warm places. Just looking for someone to travel with me!

My music taste is pretty usual for my age bracket: I like mostly oldies from the early 60's thru the 80's and soft (acoustic) rock, with lyrics you can understand and that have meaning. Hate rap, and don't really like country. My younger daughter loves country, and now that she's driving she is allowed to play it in the car (it was not allowed in my car when I was driving!).

So tell me your story!
What I’m doing with my life
I own a horse farm in Newberry, now closed, where I have 30 rolling acres, some huge Live Oaks, and used to have about 20 horses, a third of which are boarding there and the other two-thirds are mine. It's was interim use until the economy turns around and it will become the home to a group of single family homes. I'm also a real estate investor and property manager, mostly in Gainesville.
I’m really good at
Solving problems
Things financial
Other things too private to mention :-)
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and my smile!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I like things historical and humorous, particularly around the Salt Life: James Michener's Caribbean - couldn't put it down; Wouk's Don't Stop the Carnival; Jimmy Buffett's A Pirate Looks at Fifty; Carl Hiaasen; et al
Movies: The Wizard of Oz; The Way We Were; Mash; and dozens others
Shows: The Wiz was good; and most things at the Hipp
Music: Mostly rock and folk from the 60's thru the 80's (Beatles, Stones, Simon and Garfunkel, James Taylor, Arlo Guthrie, Leonard Cohen, etc), although my radio is usually tuned to the radio station geared for college age kids. Not a big fan of country, rap or opera.
Food: I'm really easy. Like coffee in the morning, Pinot Noir in the evening, and a beer during Gator football games. Prefer white meat to dark meat, but don't eat that much meat period. Love fish, especially deep water fish (swordfish, tuna) (and raw oysters, which I just tried), American, Italian and just about anything. Also fruits and veggies!!
Six things I could never do without
My oldest daughter, my youngest daughter, sun, beach, coffee, a good book
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The last third of my life coming up, and who I'll be spending it with.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going out on a date, dinner, movie, music, dancing, or just hanging at home watching "Shark Tank"
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not here - wait until you get to know me!
You should message me if
You've read my profile, we're not labeled as "y'all got issues", and you'd like to get to know me !
The two of us