69San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I love life and mine is abundant with great friendships, fun activities, meaningful work and travel. I also think life is richer, more fun, and more interesting when shared. I would like to share my passions and also share in yours. My passion at the moment is sailboats. I just obtained my skipper's certification with the goal of chartering in some distant waters. But I have other passions as well. I like to entertain at home, ski a bit, love the arts - performing arts and visual arts, dancing to blues, and doing artwork. I enjoy meeting international people and learning new perspectives. I like my work but it is not the cornerstone of my life. My work takes me to the developing world in order to conduct my research.
I think chemistry is important but is not always there in the early stages of a relationship. I like it when it happens but it will be your mind that intrigues me most and holds my attention over time. Chemistry is great for the fun, banter, playfulness, and passion that undergird a relationship. I am loyal, dependable, fun-loving with a practical streak and know how to be reciprocal in relationships. I have no need to control and do not wish to be controlled. I do love to share and want to be invited to share in another's life. I love to dream (many are fulfilled) and to listen to the dreams of another. I also love to support another in pursuit of his dreams. I love intellectual conversations as much as intimate personal conversations. I am very active and have the benefit of a healthy, energetic activity level. I am creative and tend to think out of the box.
I want someone who is smart and compassionate, is curious and interested in life and enjoys being with people. I want someone that I want to be 'sweet' with. Could it be you?
What I’m doing with my life
I have been wandering around the developing world conducting research and doing humanitarian work these past few years - well that is a few weeks a year.
I like my work but work at home (or the cafe at the corner) several days a week, thus giving me a great deal of flexibility.
My friendships and family relationships matter a lot, so I socialize quite a bit.
I love sailing race on the Bay.
I’m really good at
Conversation and relationships, writing, my work. I do a lot of other things but am mostly a dilletante at these things. I find that the process and experience is worth more than the goal. Yet I do set goals and have achieved many of them.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile which reflects my love of people and my enthusiasm for life. ... my high energy level ... my New Jersey accent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: historical novels are my favorites; Kingsolver, Zadie Smith are some of my favorites.
Movies: independent and off-beat films and anything that has exceptional cinematography
Music: Blues, jazz, rock, classical - depends on my mood
Food: variety - I eat in the developing world, so it could be anything. My favorites come from the sea.
Six things I could never do without
My family members (children/grandchildren)
My friends
My work
Nature especially water in all forms
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to create sustainable change in the health of the world... ok, something lighter too - the wonder of living in San Francisco and where in the world I want to charter a boat.
On a typical Friday night I am
Entertaining with friends quite a bit. I cook and I eat... either way is great. I race on some weekends. Sometimes going to the symphony. Sometimes dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If it is private that means I will not admit to it publicly in this forum or it is no longer private. However, in personal relationships, I tend to be very open. That is probably why I have a lot of good friendships.
You should message me if
You are fun-loving, intelligent and actively involved in life. You are someone who participates, not an observer of life - One who treats all people with respect - Someone who thinks outside the box and is a bit of a risk taker. I would like someone who is active physically and intellectually stimulating. Conversation is a must. Boating has always intrigued me and I would like to meet someone who also loves being on the water - in fact if you sail, that is a big plus. I would love to share my sport but am very willing to learn someone else's sport/ pasttime. I value honesty and openness in relationships and in life. I believe it is important to live life with as much integrity as I can manage. My special person will be kind and respectful, someone who enjoys doing things together, someone who can be romantic, someone who wants to be with me but doesn't need to own me, someone who is strong enough to be himself and strong enough to be comfortable with me being myself, someone who has a positive and inquisitive approach to life. I want someone who has achieved in his life as I have achieved in mine and understands that this is defined in many different ways.
I want a relationship, not a convenience connection. I want to share the fun of living and the inspiration of each other's ideas. I want to touch, be emotional, banter with our wits, and laugh at life's absurdities.
The two of us