44 Berkeley, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am in a really great place in my life and would love to meet someone to share it with and to develop a life long loving relationship/marriage. I have a cup half full attitude about life and have created a balanced life that I love.

I work half time as a medical doctor/surgeon by choice, and I also teach yoga and mindfulness classes and lead retreats. Check out my side passion project : I have a close relationship with my almost 16 year old daughter, and an easy amicable co-parenting relationship with her mom.

One of many things I have learned from my patients is to live life fully, dream big and wildly adventure in my youth because we can't assume our health will be good later in life. So I feel like I've created the ideal work life balance and in my free time I enjoy travel and being outdoors, whether hiking, camping/backpacking, biking (road and mountain), cross country skiing/snow shoeing, and various river and ocean sports (kayaking, rafting, surfing, scuba, SUPing, sailing). I love being in the redwoods, checking out hotsprings (wilbur, esalen), watching sunsets on the beach...and also love SF and city life, wine, live music and the abundant cultural activities. I travel internationally at least once a year, and several times a year to retreat centers in Hawaii and Mexico. I also teach yoga and lead a meditation group/sangha.

I'm getting close to a new exciting chapter of my life. In a 2.5 years, my daughter will be headed to college and I'll be able to retire. Being an empty nester and retired in my mid 40s brings amazing possibilities. I've been settled in the Bay Area for many years to raise my daughter and now I'm looking for some wanderlust and serious international travel and living abroad experiences.

I am looking for someone with similar values and interests, and is overall happy with their life, health conscious, adventurous and desires a life long partnership /marriage. I am open to the possibility of having a family with children in the right relationship/circumstance. But, I first would like to focus on developing a wonderful loving relationship, enjoying life with travel and outdoors adventures before I would settle down to have children if that’s what we decide to do. This being the case, I'm not a good match for someone in their late 30s and 40s that wants to have kids in the next few years .

I am an easy communicator, trustworthy, kind, have integrity, a good sense of humor, an adventurous spirit, and emotionally healthy and available. There is a part of my personality that is intense, driven, and extroverted, and equally a part that is easy going, can go with the flow and introverted enjoying quiet time at home or in nature. I have done my share of self growth work in my 30s and I am in a wonderful place in my life, filled with an abundance of joy and gratitude.
What I’m doing with my life
My career allows me A LOT of flexibility and balance (Yes, that's right, 26 weeks of vacation a year!), working part time in medicine and doing advocacy work on crucial health legislation at the Capital, parenting, and adventuring/traveling extensively. Part of my job is leading/teaching a mindfulness and yoga program for patients and burnt out health professionals.
I work in the northern East Bay and have a live aboard sail boat in Emeryville I stay on some nights, and I own a wonderful home in the 'green' college town of Davis (about 50 min east of Berkeley).
I’m really good at
being a father, being a great friend (listening, emotionally available and being present), cooking, outdoors activities (backpacking, whitewater rafting , hiking), yoga, leading meditation and giving dharma talks.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I own a large screen TV to watch movies, but I don't have cable and I don't follow any TV shows and I don't spend time watching sports on TV. I'd rather watch a sporting event live. I enjoy movies / netflix and occasionally will watch comedy show like old Seinfeld, Curb your Enthusiasm, Daily Show, etc. I love music (especially live) of different genre. I've recently restarted playing piano (due to my daughter's inspiration) and guitar. One of my favorite things to do in past relationships has been cooking together. I'm a really good cook (my parents taught me well), mostly vegetarian with occasional fish or chicken, and rarely use a recipe. I could not imagine life without my vitamix and my dehydrator (I make great kale chips). I don't consume much alcohol, but I do appreciate a glass of wine or beer, once or twice a week at most.
The six things I could never do without
Here's my 6+ : Water to swim and soak in, my daughter, family and friends, spiritual practice and Yoga, physical touch, and ever unfolding adventures.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Planning my next yoga/meditation retreat or trip abroad (I usually go on one or two international trips / year).
Parenting my daughter and how to provide her the most love and the best in life.
I have the option to retire in 3 years, and depending on my life and whom I marry and whether or not I have more children, this might include living part/full time on the beach, in Hawaii (or a tropical paradise in Costa Rica or Thailand/Bali)...setting up my financial future to make that happen.
On a typical Friday night I am
Nothing is typical in my life... could be in the city at a cultural event, sitting in hot springs, on a meditation or yoga retreat, enjoying an evening at home with friends, attending shabbat dinner, or spending time my daughter.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
you'll have to meet me to find out my private secrets
You should message me if
You are in a great place in your are self aware, take good care of yourself, self acceptance/you're content, and emotionally mature and healthy.
You desire a healthy life long relationship/partnership, filled with growth, deep love, and adventures.
You enjoy being in nature.
You have some type of spiritual practice (meditation, yoga, qi gong...)
You are comfortable with my commitment to my daughter and she's almost off to college, so I'll be an empty nester soon.