teainthecity
34 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
teainthecity
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
People always tell me I have really good manners, but I think this is just because I was raised by a mother from the rural south. I suppose I spent my childhood and adolescence rebelling against her notion of being ladylike, as she happens to think my manners are terrible! Anyways, if I could describe myself, I'd say: optimistic, extroverted, a little cynical, kind, passionate and intelligent. I took some time in my twenties to travel, and I am yearning for a partner in crime to explore new destinations with. I'd like to find someone funny, kind, adventurous, affectionate and interested in the world around them.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working in mental health care, and am in the process of completing a Masters In Social Work. I am trying to find a way to integrate my wish to work both in advocacy and social justice, and my long term plan is to work in private practice with adolescents.
I’m really good at
I really enjoy writing. I've been trying to spend more time writing posts for a blog about different health topics. My friends say I'm good at listening when they are upset. I'm also pretty good at planning trips.
The first things people usually notice about me
People compliment me most on my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love Italian food, good conversation and taking time enjoying a meal. My favorite movie of all time is Vertigo, as I enjoy the thrill and plot twist Alfred Hitchcock is so well known for, as well as seeing old San Francisco on screen and the fashion of the 1940s and 50s. My favorite author is Tennessee Williams. Right now I'm reading "The Case for God," by Karen Armstrong. It is interesting, in part, because it forces the reader to think of how the history at the time in which different religious texts were written effects how we should interpret them.
The six things I could never do without
Travel! Yummy, healthy, fresh food. A comfortable bed and a plethora of blankets. Good walking shoes. My sunhat (and maybe my cell phone and passport too).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to live a balanced life in modern society.
On a typical Friday night I am
I enjoy checking out art shows and events, parties my friends are having, or educational workshops/talks going on in the community. I am a bit of a science nerd too, and I really enjoy science talks and museums. I like going out to dinner and enjoying delicious food, then dancing after. I also enjoy staying in, cuddling and watching a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I didn't get my drivers license until I was 21 because I failed the driving test three times. I got three automatic fails. But it's a good story to share with you all now.
You should message me if
My vision for you: Someone who doesn't go out drinking and partying all weekend, because honestly I am done doing that (although occasionally drinking is fine, obviously). Someone who is passionate about things going on in their life, someone kind and caring, funny, and interested in the world around you and exploring it.
More