tenino
42 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
tenino
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
In summary... I grew up among an interesting set of influences in Chicago. I have lived in Portland for most of the last 20+ years, despite several attempts to leave for sunnier skies. I spend what time I can with dear longtime friends and my son, who is 5 and wonderful. I'm a trainer/practitioner of conflict resolution.

Let's see... I am reflective, get happily lost in thought, love when my thinking is forced to change. I'm hard to offend, love an adventure, and really just want something hysterical to happen at any given moment so that I can laugh at it... I am generally critical but not skeptical... okay, maybe I can be a little skeptical at times. But not jaded... Maybe "just barely" jaded would be more honest. And sometimes I overthink things.
What I’m doing with my life
working, learning, eating, socializing, raising my son, hatching plans, wondering about things.
I’m really good at
I am more at a loss to mingle than in a difficult conversation. I'm good at settling into new and different places. Very good at adapting. Great at appreciating a good meal, making piles of paperwork to deal with later, wrapping a gift, doing my job and finding a new angle on a situation.
The first things people usually notice about me
People either think I'm really warm and engaging, quick-witted and gregarious or that I'm aloof, pensive, overconfident and don't like them. All this probably depends on how comfortable I am. And then there's mood. But I figure I'm okay, as enough of them come around to reveal those negative first impressions. Yeah, I'm going with that.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am a big fan of memoir. I'm not a big fan of rattling off titles to classify my likes, but right now I'm reading Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight and it is excellent. I haven't seen a movie I loved in far too long and nothing is coming to mind at the moment. On any given day I could be enjoying blues, bluegrass, folk, R&B, pop or classical music. I like delicious food but do not care for the texture of mushrooms. I prefer green olives to black ones. I'll just leave it there.
The six things I could never do without
Sun and sky
Rest
Warm bodies of water
A comfortable bed
Good salads and dark chocolate
My son, who has grown my heart and my world 3X bigger.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My future as an expat: where, when, how?
Why people are as we are.
What I will have for dinner and when I will go to the grocery store.
On a typical Friday night I am
Palling around with my sidekick (kiddo), out with friends, out on the town or right at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tend to re-read and edit my emails after sending them. The sent errors confound me and yet I persist in this pattern. That's really quite personal.
You should message me if
you like this 2 dimensional slice of me; you're confident, kind and curious; you like to get shit done and have fun; you have some energy for a bright, lively child in your future (not immediate future... unless you've got your own kiddo of course... okay, let's just say you have this energy for a hypothetical kid and keep it really cool); and - this should go without saying - you just want to.
More