thisisjim
30 Edmonton, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
thisisjim
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Nerdy, cynical, and sarcastic. Enjoys puns and lame jokes. Lives for interesting stories. Life-long learner and amateur academic.

Proud Canadian with Chinese roots. Born and raised in Toronto. Recent transplant to Alberta.

Fan of nature and trees.Food lover. Coffee addict. World traveller wannabe.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to build a career.

Learning the ins and outs of my new city. Trying all the restaurants/cafes/bars. Getting used to the schizophrenic Edmonton weather.

Dreaming of the next trip - a food tour of Europe.
I’m really good at
Trivia: I read a lot. Most of it is useless.
Writing: I can get my ideas across well enough.
Cooking: I can feed myself!
Computers: Googling is an art.
Video Games: Yep.
Killing bugs: my weapons of choice are the bottoms of tissue boxes, my trusty clipboard, and my bare hands.
The first things people usually notice about me
is that I'm not white, probably. My deep voice if I'm heard before I'm seen.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I have a minor obsession with dystopian and/or post-apocalyptic stories:
1984, A Handmaid's Tale, Fahrenheit 451, Brave New World. Flowers for Algernon - not dystopian, but it's got a special place in my heart.

Movies: The Dark Knight, most Quentin Tarantino movies, and most Pixar movies.

TV Shows: Rick and Morty, Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, The Wire, Star Trek, Simpsons, Family Guy, Futurama, Archer.
Anything Joss Whedon.

Music: Most music; I've been on a jazz kick lately.

Food: poutine, t-bone steak (rare), pho, Cantonese fried noodles, ramen (the real stuff), and sea urchin sashimi are favourites.

Video games:
This list would be too long...

I love video games, but there's nothing that's captured my attention lately.
The six things I could never do without
1) Good stories
2) Internet
3) Good coffee
4) Good food
5) My bike
6) Video games
I spend a lot of time thinking about
* Where and how I want to live my life
* How to find balance
* Places I want to visit - first Euro-trip booked for next summer!
* Foods I want to eat or cook (and then eat)
* Socioeconomic policy - education, health, inequality, quality of life
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes : Netflix, Reddit, video games
The rest of the time: dinner at a restaurant, out at a bar, some other social activity.
More