32 College Station, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a graduate from A&M twice over. For now I’m working as a tutor while I pursue my primary interest which is Ballroom Dance. I almost always wear a tie.

I'm a proponent of simple living in the tradition of Thoreau (sans the lakeside cabin). Fortunately it is still possible to do without most consumer products, although I do have a weakness for technology. I think the important thing is to make deliberate choices with regard to need and want. There is a little hint of Buddhist philosophy in there too, with the detachment and whatnot. (this paragraph is teh sexy, right?)

So, I spend a considerable amount of time driving between College Station and Houston. I live in College Station, but my dance partner and coach are in Houston, and I use the excuse to spend time with my nieces and nephew (is there a gender neutral word for a siblings' offspring? There should be.) in Richmond.

(I like making parenthetical statements, even in speech.)
What I’m doing with my life
I can’t seem to stop being a student, right now I’m studying Ballroom Dance in the hopes of teaching and dancing professionally down the line. To support myself I tutor for Dynamics, Vibrations, and Controls (more generally: Mechanical Engineering) courses at A&M.

I’ve ramped up my training in the last year. I have been teaching a few lessons here-and-there, but mainly I'm preparing for upcoming competitions with my lovely partner, Leah.

I also do crossfit at least 3 times a week.
I’m really good at
Dancing a waltz, teaching, falling asleep during movies, and feeling awkward about writing about myself.

I'm quite handy with a sewing machine, and have fabricated custom backpacking equipment, luggage, a pretty sweet messenger bag, bowties, &c. Pretty much whatever I think I might want.
The first things people usually notice about me
My easy going stride, my high fastening pants, the incredible lightness of me.

[this question is dumb]
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like to read propaganda mostly; anti-religion, pro-science (especially biology), neo-socialist, anti-corporate, pseudo-philosophical propaganda. Mary Roach is easily my favorite (non-scientist) author.

I like bio-pics, documentaries, and absurd shit (I ♥ I ♥ Huckabees and Magnolia). Most things starring Clare Danes, Peter Sellers, Jason Schwartzman, Bill Murray, Ed Norton, and Fred Astaire. Also, anything by Luc Besson or Kevin Smith. The Rocky Horror Picture Show is my absolute favorite.

I listen to more ballroom music than any normal person should, but apart from that I really like The New Pornographers; Imogen Heap; Ani Difranco; Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young; Neko Case; Norah Jones; Sun Kil Moon; Frightened Rabbit, Crystal Castles, Beach House. There isn't much that I don't like (except pop-country)

I enjoy spicy foods, namely Indian, Thai, and Korean.
The six things I could never do without
[obligatory snarky response about air, water, food, and shelter]
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I find learning to be a very interesting phenomenon, and I want to understand how it happens. I guess that is one of the things that I really like about tutoring, I get to experiment with teaching and the learning process on a fairly large sample of people.

The creative process in general, but specifically the actualization of thought. Taking some problem that you want to solve from a rough concept of the problem, to an idealized solution, and finally to a finished product. It is strange to consider, but the product had to exist in its final state well before it was made. I can make the finished product out of wood, metal, plastic, or canvas. But what I'm more interested in what the idea is made of, and how it came to exist.

Coercion. The nature of it, and how to avoid participating in coercive behavior (both as recipient and as instigator). I think that much of what we consider evil in the world is a direct result of coercive behavior, and I want no part of it. Every person should be free to exercise their own moral agency, I have no right to interfere in that by insisting they behave a certain way.

Polyamory: I'm currently in a relationship with a woman who has been in a polyamorous relationship before, and I'm curious about the mechanics of such a relationship.

Choreography: Any time I listen to music I can’t help but think about how to move to it. Presently a Samba to Fiona Apple (Hot Knife).

Sailing around the world: Not necessarily under sail. Not necessary around-the-world, but to exciting ports strewn about the globe. I think I can make this one happen in the next three years.

Working problems with students: Gotta make that paper.

Living deliberately: Wish I didn’t have to make that paper.
On a typical Friday night I am
Dancing, or hanging out with my house-mates. Usually dancing.
You should message me if
…if you want to.