49Verona, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I find myself back in the dating scene after more than a decade. I have always liked getting to know people one-on-one and so I look forward to getting out a little. I have always been attracted to athletes and people with unique personalities. A sense of humor is absolutely essential.

I spent the first part of my life working toward a career in higher education because I felt a calling to teaching and coaching. After 7 years of that I made a horizontal move to better provide for my family. I have been fortunate in that I have always had a job I liked, and I still do.

I was a college athlete and physical activity has always been a part of my life. Right now I spend most of my active time playing soccer, but I’ve played just about every sport and used to run quite a bit too. Lately I’ve had to listen to my body a little more carefully. You shouldn’t read this paragraph and get the wrong idea. I enjoy leisure as well. I like to go out and listen to a band now and then. I love a good movie and discovered Netflix last year, so there is the occasional weekend where I’ll completely devour some newly discovered series (Farscape, Burn Notice, Firefly, Sons of Anarchy). Life needs balance and sometimes I just need to chill.

With two young girls, it is difficult to do any recreational reading. Luckily, I travel for work a few times a year and that allows me to devour a novel or two during each trip. I do like lawyer fiction and science fiction.

I suppose that is enough for now about the past and the present. Let’s see about the future…

(After writing this and reading what women have been writing, I wonder what’s in the typical male essay?)
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I’m trying to live life and find a good balance--travel when I can, trying to keep my body and mind moving forward (especially rehabbing old and new injuries lately), and trying to keep my time with my children interesting and positive.
I’m really good at
Figuring stuff out—MacGyver style. The occasional one-liner.
The first things people usually notice about me
Funny, dependable, ethical, a good listener, and I hate the cold!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I find the question of favorites for anything difficult—the definition is too narrow. I like to go see a band now and then, and I am always up for a movie. A great meal would be a creative food joint with a few interesting and tasty, amazing appetizers for a meal.
Six things I could never do without
I don’t know if there is anything I can really do without (except my kids), so let’s try these…
1) Morning coffee is great, but a single strong cup is usually good enough.
2) The morning paper.
3) Some physical activity to keep me sane—currently weekly soccer matches.
4) A challenge. Usually my job keeps my interest and is a daily challenge.
5) I certainly like a good sweet treat—chocolate!
6) A nice day in the sun relaxing with a beer and a friend.
On a typical Friday night I am
You should message me if
You are interested in having a beer and finding out more.
You think we might have some interests in common.
Want to talk about how we each got to this place in life.

Even though I have a science background, I don't know what these numbers mean, but I would be currios to see how first impressions match the computer. Perhaps you would too?
The two of us