40 Morrisville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I will just be as open and honest as I can.

I am a good guy who tries to do the right thing. I am not always all that motivated, I am not always self assured, and I don't always follow my own convictions. But I try, I I am devoted, and I really care about things, even if I don't show it. Sometimes I find it hard to create deep roots in something, and it has hindered me from some things, like having a lot of good friends or finding a church home. It is something I am aware of and working on.

For my family background, I am the only one in my family without a postgrad dregree. Both parents and my brother are or have been professors, my sister has an MSW and works at a hospice. I am the oldest child, and I still feel like I am playing catch-up to their awesomeness.

As for myself, I am a linux using, sci-fi/anime watching, car loving, video game playing guy who is looking for somebody who can share my passions as well as keep me in check.

For the really nerdy. I am practically a unix grey beard at this point, having done linux installs before it was easy to get it on cdrom. I script in perl, dable in ruby and modify python. I use vi over emacs, prefer the terminal, think screen and script are required tools, and believe every linux admin needs to know how to use tcpdump, lsof, strace, xargs, regexp and awk. I have my OS and distribution camps for various things, but unless you are being overbearing on it or saying something that just isn't true, I won't make a big deal about it.
What I’m doing with my life
I am trying to figure out where I belong. I spent a decade in California and almost 15 years working as a computer guy in the entertainment industry and have recently changed locations and careers. I now live on the opposite coast, working in a different sector, but now live close to my family. I am trying to find ways to better myself so I can be a better friend and family member.
I’m really good at
I am a tech guy. I can google answers and debug problems with the best of them. I love problem solving. Technology, that I can figure out. It follows rules and logic. People, I am still trying to figure that out.
The first things people usually notice about me
My stature. I am a big guy and I can come off intimidating, but they will quickly see my shy, sly smile and know that I am just a big teddy bear.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For movies, I love anything from indie to action to romantic comedies to animated (huge fan, spent 13 years working in that industry). As long as its not gore or shock horror, I am usually good with it.

Food: Italian, Sushi, Pizza, BBQ

Books: Anything by JRR Tolkien, CS Lewis, David Eddings, Terry Brooks, Orson Scott Card

I am reading through CS Lewis's classics right now, having just finished The Great Divorce I particularly love Mere Christianity and his space trilogy.

TV Shows: Monk, Psych, Heroes, Chuck, How I Met Your Mother, Lost, Burn Notice, Dexter, Robot Chicken, Big Bang Theory, Dead Like Me, Pushing Daisies.

I have just binge watched several shows and series, almost too many to list. Right now, my TV viewing has been almost all streaming anime from crunchyroll.

I believe that Cat Power's album The Greatest may be the most aptly named album since The Beatles' White Album (and one of the best albums since).

CCM: Joy Electric, Brothers Martin, Starflyer 59, Grammatrain, Switchfoot, Plankeye, MxPx, meWithoutYou, Relient K
Pop/Indie: She and Him, Jenny Lewis, Rilo Kiley, Tegan And Sara, Kate Nash, Lilly Allen, Regina Spektor, KT Tunstall, The Wrong Trousers, Frou Frou, Feist, The Postal Service, Camera Obscura
Classic: The Beatles, The Yardbirds, The Animals, Led Zepplin, Janis Joplin
The six things I could never do without
I could list abstract ideas like family, friends, faith... but they aren't really physical things, so I will go with actual things:

Streaming Video (crunchyroll, funimation, netflix, hulu and amazon prime, in that order)
TV/PC w/ wireless keyboard
one of my cars
universal remote
and finally, I guess my cats, although they act like they could do without me.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Not a whole lot. I try to leave work at work, so when I am at home, its whatever distractions I have to keep me from feeling lonely or trying to figure out why I am still single.
On a typical Friday night I am
Home. It used to be finishing up at work. At least now, saying home sounds a lot better. I am in my recliner, watching tv or playing games. I am not opposed to doing things on Friday (or any night), I am almost always game to do something, its just I don't initiate activities with others very well.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Having always been a nice respectable boy, a girl's mother tended to love me more than they did.
You should message me if
You are somewhat attractive, active and are looking somebody who cares and are looking for a friend and good conversation. It doesn't just have to be about a potential match, friends are important too. But I can't date somebody I wouldn't see myself becoming good friends with.

I tend to keep myself pretty guarded, and I don't always respond, because I don't know how to say I'm not interested without feeling awkward.