tomblah
37Melbourne, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
tomblah
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I'm Tom.
What I’m doing with my life
I currently making a living building iOS apps.

I'm a freelancer which means I get to set my own hours. But also have to deal with clients. And no sick leave etc. So every now and then I swear I'll go back to a 9 to 5. But not yet as I do enjoy the lifestyle.

Also, product building is an interesting space to be in right now. The plummeting costs of getting a product to market means lots of interesting startups are starting up.

I come from a physics background and have a deep passion for physics. That said, I tend to enjoy physics a lot more when it's not actually my job!
I’m really good at
Doing the dishes. I don't actually enjoy it that much, but have become good at it!

Making people laugh. I've noticed around some people I'm funny whereas others I come across as quite socially awkward.

Making cultural references. I think I tend to make sense of the world by relating it to TV shows.

Juggling a soccer ball. Not sure why I'm including this here as it pretty much adds zero information.

Trying to listen. It's probably presumptuous to say that I'm a good listener. But I'm very, very, very good at trying to listen!
The first things people usually notice about me
My orange, Cheshire Cat grin.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books
-------
I generally enjoy hard sci-fi. As in reeeeally hard sci-fi, e.g. Greg Egan. Any story where the physics is rigorous. I've heard good things about Ted Chiang.

(I also have a guilty pleasure for John Grisham and other easy to digest authors...)

Movies / TVs
---------------
Apart from the standard TV shows that everyone seems to list in their profile (Breaking Bad, Mad Men etc.) I enjoy: Community, Planet Earth, Charlie Kaufman, Limmy's Show, Homeland, The Sopranos, Red Dwarf, Rick And Morty, Bill Maher.

Food
-----
My favourite food would have to be smoked salmon. I've also got into the habit of eating lentils for breakfast instead of cereal.

I'm not at all a Foodie, but really do enjoy eating interesting meals.

Music
------
So, mostly 50s and 60s music and jazz (Miles Davis, Chet Baker etc). Not a fan of mainstream pop.
Six things I could never do without
* People who are way smarter than me. Intellectual conversations.

* Mindfulness meditation.

* Scrabble. I really enjoy playing Scrabble online.

* Cycling. I especially enjoy long distance rides between cities. I find it very liberating!

* Lapsang Souchong tea. Technically this shouldn't be in the list because I've mostly given up caffeine but somehow it's forced it's way onto the list.

* Thinking, reflection and introspection time.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How best to do something, no matter how insane.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes socializing, other times reading in my hammock. Sometimes programming on a pet project or two.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The West Wing is my favourite TV show. I have a strong, cheesy, idealistic streak just below the surface...
You should message me if
Anything on my profile interests you. I'm easy with anything from a fun chat to actually meeting in person.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Sex
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Religion