travislchaney
41 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
travislchaney
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a luminous soul who greatly enjoys meeting new folks and going to new places. I am an extremely tolerant, gentle, loving person who tries to see the light in all people. I am grateful for all the friendships and relationships I have had.

I grew up in the South (Oklahoma/Arkansas), but found my way to the West Coast and fit in much better here. I enjoyed five years in Ashland before arriving here in Portland in 2012.

I greatly value creativity in all forms. I studied Spanish at Southern Oregon University and live language study in general, especially English with its massive lexicon.

I am polyamorous and ethically nonmonogamous. I would describe myself more specifically as solo poly. I am very interested in having loving (and lasting) relationships, but am presently not that interested in living with anyone. I am also open to being part of a hierarchical structure, but my only experience with that is being secondary (or further out). I know that the only way such a lifestyle works in a satisfying and loving way is through honest communication.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an audiobook proofer, a job that I greatly enjoy and that affords me a great deal of freedom and flexibility with respect to my schedule. I run a Scrabble club here in Portland, which is arguably the strongest such club on the planet, and enjoy going to see music, especially jazz. Portland has so much to offer in that respect!
I’m really good at
I am an expert tournament Scrabble player in English, having played in various international tourneys, and even represented the U.S. in the 2010 and 2011 Spanish-language world championships. (To be honest, though, I haven't studied Spanish Scrabble words much recently and don't have much opportunity to play competitively here on the West Coast.)

I like to think that I am rather good at expressing myself creatively through poetic composition. I have also tried my hand a couple of short stories. I am also dabbling in creative photography and videos, all shot on my iPhone. You can see a sample of my work on my website, www.travischaney.com.
The first things people usually notice about me
My cool Dr. Martens shoes and boots, my cool facial hair, my intense eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: I am a huge jazz fan, especially free jazz (Ornette Coleman, Cecil Taylor, Anthony Braxton, Sun Ra, The Bad Plus, Bill Frisell, Keith Jarrett, Eric Dolphy just to name a very few). Outside of the genre(s) of jazz I dig Bjork, Built to Spill, Animal Collective, CocoRosie, Emperor X, Flaming Lips, Daniel Johnston, Gordon Lightfoot, Mates of State, Microphones/Mount Eerie, Neutral Milk Hotel, My Morning Jacket, Elf Power, OOIOO, R.E.M., Deerhoof, Fela Kuti, Astor Piazzolla, Neil Young. I am also unabashedly a Michael Jackson fan. I absolutely love old honky tonk, especially on vinyl.

Books: The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary; the works of Jorge Luis Borges and Julio Cortázar; Word Freak; E.E. Cummings--Complete Works

Movies: Favorite filmmakers are Lars Von Trier, Federico Fellini, Peter Greenaway, Atom Egoyan, Michel Gondry, Akira Kurosawa, Maysles brothers, Jim Jarmusch, Quentin Tarantino, Werner Herzog. I love documentaries.

Television shows: Twin Peaks, X-Files, Louis C.K., and all the great new Marvel Comics and DC Comics television shows.
The six things I could never do without
Scrabble
jazz
travel
language
social media
and that lamp
I spend a lot of time thinking about
words
nonwords
music
nonmusic
anagrams
cognates
On a typical Friday night I am
I love to go see the innumerable bars in Portland, see a good music show, and spend time with friends when I can.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wrote a script for an erotic film that I'd like to see in the Hump! festival someday. Still looking for an actor and an actress.
You should message me if
you want to spend time with a very genuine and kind person.

you want to talk (and listen to) jazz.

you want to regale me with your stories over bourbon.

you like to cuddle (because I like to cuddle).

you want to show me a good new series to watch on Netflix.

you want to go hiking.

you want to go to the nude beach at Sauvie Island.

you want to be my water brother.
More