63Hermitage, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
How do I tell you about myself? I am unique. I have had a very full and active life already. I've lived in 26 states, if you count 2 weeks or longer as living somewhere. I love science, for it's own sake. I have tried many things over the past 50+ years. Some I liked (like wood working), some I didn't (car repairs), some I still do (bread baking and bread shaping), some I don't (cake decorating). I've worked a lot of jobs over the years, and owned my own business for 5 years (sold at a profit at the time), but MOSTLY I've worked with children in some capasity most of my life.

I am an "earth mother" type who likes to wear sandals and broomstick skirts. I rarely wear makeup, so time has been kind to my skin. I like things simple. I like complex ideas and conversations. But simple foods, simple problems, and simple times.

I have played D&D off and on for decades. I enjoy renfairs and did something called The S.C.A. (historical reenactment) for years, where I learned swordfighting and how to use a light crossbow.

I am a loving and generous woman, however I have also lived long enough to know where my boundaries are and to stick to them.

I am a non-smoker, non-drug user, these are ABSOLUTES for me.
I am fine with men who contact me on here also contacting others and dateing others ... untill we develop a closer relationship ... from THAT point forward I require monogamy from my partner. ALWAYS, I REQUIRE HONESTY and will give the same.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm active in my grand-kids' daily lives. I Skype almost daily with the one who lives in another state. I am trying to learn Java Script because I would like to develop Ipod and nook apps for kids. I would like to write and possibly illustrate my own children's books. I do some volunteer work with my church.
I was a teacher... a substitute for all grades K-12 for several years, and a middle-school science teacher for the last few years that I taught. But, I had to stop working due to health issues. I worked from home as a graphic artist for several years after teaching. When the company that I worked for decided that they no longer needed graphic artist/illustrators they let me, and three other contracted employees, go. After that I went on disability as my ability to walk became more limited (I have osteoarthritice). I remain as active as possible though. I love to go swimming. I go to the zoo, the park, and museums almost every week. I do have to use an electric chair to get around the zoo however.
I’m really good at
Computer graphic arts, storytelling, cooking simple foods, making bread, raising kids, meditation, communication, healing physical and spiritual wounds, learning, reading for meaning, artistic endeavors, being Grandma. soothing and comforting others
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my weight, and my hair. Not necessarily in that order. ;) Next they notice my sense of humor, then the two canes I use to walk with. Eventually they notice that I'm missing a tooth or two towards the back (and one near the front).
I am a LARGE woman. Both tall and extra-wide.
I smile and laugh a lot. Smiles are important to me.
My hair is silver-and-white instead of dull gray. My daughter says that she could hold a silver spoon up against my hair and it would almost disappear. She also points out that I have eyes that actually twinkle when I smile. :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Currently reading and LOVING ~ The Game of Thrones series
TYPES of books I enjoy, in order of preference: FANTASY (elves, castles, etc); Science Fiction (hard and soft); Historical Mysteries; Autobiographies; Science Text Books; Psychology/Sociology/Anthropology studies; Children's literature;I will read almost anything, as long as it is well written. Poor writing turns me off.

I love books and reading. I am always reading something! I love going to the library.

I REALLY love going to the movies. I like SF/fantasy movies. I like kids movies. I like funny movies. I am developing an ability to enjoy some horror movies, especially the suspense and psychological thrillers. I love vampire and werewolf movies. I hate slasher movies; car wrecks, and explosions, usually turn me off.

Movies I've seen in the past few years that I really enjoyed: AVATAR, Lord of the Rings, BRAVE, The Number 23, Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter (was surprisingly FUNNY), 1408, Taken, This Means War (hysterical).

Music I enjoy: IRISH, old ballads and epics, Symphony, easy listening, SOME country (without the twang), musicals, 70's stuff

Gray's Anatomy
The New Normal
Big Bang Theory

Sushi, Italian, German, Korean, Mexican, Chinese, Greek, will try others
Six things I could never do without
OTHER than the essentials of life (food, Cpap, meds, etc),
my kids and grand-kids,
my computer,
time outside,
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How good it would feel to be held and snuggled again, to hear the deep sound of a man's voice as we talk, to feel his hand in mine as we sit outside watching the sun and the trees. What it would be like to be discovering a new person's body and responces, likes and dislikes. How it felt and would feel again to have that happy LIFT in my heart when I see them or hear from them.
On a typical Friday night I am
home, hanging out with my family, or with friends, watching TV or a movie .... or playing on the computer....sometimes I go hang out with friends, but usually I'm home. Going out is/was fun, but staying in is nice too.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a little nervous about this OKCupid thing. My daughter has met a couple of really nice guys on here and suggested I try it. I AM tired of being alone and would like a man in my life again. I was happily married for 9 years, then (sometimes happily) divorced for 12. I had a couple of close relationships during those 12 years, but have not had a partner for the past 6 years. My ex-husband passed away 2 years ago. We were friends at the time. I miss having a man in my life as a friend, a lover, or a partner. So I'm "putting it out there" and seeing who I can find. It's been a while though since I've had to accomodate anyone else. :)
The two of us