44Salem, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Dec 2015: Moved to Salem, OR, for now.

31 Mar 2013: I logged on today thinking I was going to totally re-vamp my profile, but you know what? Other than a comma here and there, or the rare typo, I'm leaving it as-is. This is me, and what I want. Take it or leave it :)

I'm a very diverse person. I enjoy reading, drawing and painting, genealogy, photography, cooking and baking, gardening, architecture, languages, travel, glass work, football, music, and a multitude of other things. When I get outdoors, I enjoy camping, fishing, hiking, boating, and nature in general. I love to play in the rain! I have a mostly off-again relationship with the gym, but in general I don't mind physical activity. I'm a very down to earth, honest, homey person. I firmly believe that when you stop learning, you stop growing as a person, so I love trying new things. Other things about me: I procrastinate, I have tattoos, I'm very loyal; some of my favorite places are Seattle, SF, Venice, and Paris. I'm a die-hard romantic with an unmitigated realistic streak.

I was born and raised in CA, lived there til I was 18, when I started moving around. I've lived in DC, SC (briefly), GA, OK, TX, WA, PA, and CO. I moved to Colorado Springs in Aug '09 to be closer to family. I moved to Littleton in May '12 to be closer to work. I moved to Salem, OR to be closer to a life-long friend as well as various other friends and family.

I've traveled the world: the USSR while in high school; stationed in Korea for a year; France (Paris, and the La Rochelle area), Amsterdam, Venice, Austria (Wattens). I have a long list of other places in the world I would love to visit.

I am artistic, quirky, and feisty.
What I’m doing with my life
I've worked in telecom since I got out of the Army in '98. It pays the bills and allows me to do things I otherwise probably wouldn't be able to, but it's just a job (or was, until I quit in June. I'm jobless since relocating). In the long run, I'd like to get back to a more creative endeavor, and am interested in returning to school for something in the realm of art history or architectural history, graphic arts or computer animation, French, culinary arts and genealogy.
Otherwise, I just got back from 10 days in Paris (my 5th visit)[Mar 2013], and what felt like a million stairs. We climbed the 400 steps of Notre-Dame (and back down), descended the 130 steps of the Catacombs (only 83 back up!), the 300 steps of Sacré-Coeur (plus the ones it takes to get from the base of the hill up to the church) and back down the church and the hill, not to mention metro stops, the apartment, museums, etc. Stairs are the bane of my existence! lol
I’m really good at
I'm really good at being a big ol' geek :) In additional to my artistic skills painting, drawing, stained glass, photography, I have been immersed in genealogy for the last fifteen years or so. I collect vintage Swarovski beads (you can visit my website www.swaro-elements.com if you don't know what the heck I'm talking about) and use them in jewelry designs.

Other geeky qualifications: I'm a huge Firefly fan - as well as anything else by Joss Whedon. I'm a Nathan Fillion fan girl. DVD collection is over 700, and I have my own personal library. I've got days worth of music in my music library, and I haven't finished uploading my old CDs. I even have comics Dark Horse though they're a newly developed hobby - I went to (San Diego) Comic-Con in '09 with friends - a first for me. Since Comic-Con, I've hit some regional cons, including Starfest and the 1st Denver Comic-Con.

Languages: At one time (about age 13) I was trying to teach myself about 12 different languages - including Swahili and Esperanto. I took four years of French in HS, a year of Spanish (growing up in CA, I have a decent grasp when listening), and in college 3 semesters of Russian. I've got a smattering of Italian, German, Greek still in the brain somewhere. I use my French on an almost-daily basis, but just on the reading level - it goes hand in hand with my genealogy research in Canada and France. I practice my comprehension skills by turning the subtitles off on my favorite French movies, and I practice my speaking skills my traveling to France every couple of years (and muttering to myself while researching).
The first things people usually notice about me
Well, it used to be my red hair. Apparently the color has changed with age, so I'll say my blue eyes and/or my freckles. Shortly after that, the propensity to wear Chucks and stripey knee socks, and the smart-alec attitude.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Since I'm an addict of all four, this could go on for a while:

Books: The Princess Bride, Harry Potter series, Decipher by Stel Pavlou, The Book of Salt by Monique Truong, Time Enough for Love by Heinlein, anything by Catherine Asaro, Dennis McKiernan, Mercedes Lackey, Barb/JC Hendee, Robert Asprin, Truman Capote, PJ Haarsma, Sharon Shinn, Terry Pratchett ... I have my own personal library and read voraciously, so there's a lot that's not listed above (including the chick lit).

Movies: Serenity, Roman Holiday, Breakfast at Tiffany's, My Fair Lady, Big, That Thing You Do, Joe vs the Volcano, Knight's Tale, Princess Bride, Thing Called Love, La Double Vie de Véronique, l'Homme du Train, Amélie, La Cité des Enfants Perdue, Fifth Element, Hope Floats, High Fidelity, Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, SLiTHER, Harry Potter movies, LOTR/Hobbit movies ... I love John Hughes movies and detest most of what comes out in the theatre.

Music: Very eclectic mix; Zbigniew Preisner, Sarah Vaughan, Nina Simone, Indochine, Depeche Mode, Toad the Wet Sprocket, Tori Amos, Julie Delpy, Carla Bruni, The Fray, Snow Patrol, Mumford & Sons, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Florence and The Machine, Gotye, Beirut, Arctic Monkeys, Kongos, Bat For Lashes, Anna Nalick, Live, Pearl Jam, Duran Duran, Depeche Mode, The Clash, The The, Psychedelic Furs .... most 80's new wave, etc.

Food: I love to cook (Italian comes easiest to me, from scratch) - Cast iron pizza, lasagna, spaghetti, ravioli, but I'm basically a meat and potatoes girl. I have a fondness for lemon curd, ice cream, fresh baked bread, green grapes, mushrooms, steak, duck, my sea salt collection, cheese... Oh, I don't eat seafood unless it's tuna out of the pouch/can (or I'm very drunk and it's fried - like shrimp).

I'm adding TV - I really don't watch a lot (especially since I ditched Comcast), but there are a few shows that are a must (some just get re-watched on DVD or Netflix): Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Bones, Dollhouse, Castle, Grimm, Once Upon a Time, The Voice, Smash, White Collar, Burn Notice, Leverage, Biggest Loser, Warehouse 13, almost anything on Discovery, and the Food Channel (Chopped, Good Eats, Iron Chef America, Challenge, and Triple D are faves).
Six things I could never do without
Well, besides the highly essential water, air, food (in no particular order):
1. Lip goop Burt's Bees
2. Firefly
3. my Maine Coon kitty, Psyche
4. reading material
5. friends & family
6. internet on the whole, but more specifically, Ancestry.com. Seriously. Genealogy research is a complete pain in the *cough* without it as a resource.
7. To misbehave (in two ways) - I'm stealing one of my friend Linda's answers - garlic. :)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Current projects: Genealogy challenges, getting my websites updated, and wishing I was someplace else.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home, enjoying music, a book, movie, and a drink or two.
Occasionally out with friends for dinner or drinks.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Is that there are private things to admit.
You should message me if
any of this sounds interesting, and you're not intimidated.

I don't have any set "type." I'm attracted to different people for different reasons. I have definite visions in my head of my "Mr. Right"... tall, average to athletic build, beautiful eyes, interested in having a family, loves his mom but is not a momma's boy, has friends and activities of his own, and loves me for who I am. I'm not willing to settle, so here are the other things I'm looking for - Ambition, intrepid [willing to get up off the couch and try new things - not afraid of bugs, the dark, women, or dirt], warm-hearted, caring, honest, funny, intelligent, balanced, fun. A man that will hold a door, just because that is what he was taught, or still considers it to be good manners [just keep in mind, I was in the Army and can fire an M16...I'm not helpless] gets bonus points. Looking for a man with integrity, spontaneity, romantic inclinations, strong but gentle hands, cooking skills, hugging skills, laundry skills, and the ability to laugh. He knows his way around Home Depot as well as a grocery store, auto store, or book store. I'm not looking for a perfect man, but the man perfect for me.
The two of us