38Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in North Carolina. I moved to the Chapel Hill/Durham area around 15 years ago. I tend to be an easy going person that enjoys the little experiences in life. I think the journey is just as important as the destination. My friends will tell you that I'm a kind and loyal person that tries to give more than I take. I always try to help a friend in need, no matter what it takes. I have a quick wit and can be sarcastic at times.

I've always loved being in the mountains on a cool autumn day when the leaves have changed. I also enjoy a clear summer night, just looking up at all of the stars. My parents built a cabin outside Boone a few years back and it is a great place to get away from city life for awhile.

I love to hang out with my friends and family. I have three wonderful young nephews that are a joy to see and play with. My best friend is currently working in Denmark for the rest of the year, but I still talk to him often through email and Skype. I may have to plan a trip if he decides to take a promotion and stay longer. I used to travel a lot when I was younger, but haven't been able to in recent years. It would be nice to start travelling locally and abroad again.
What I’m doing with my life
I've recently been trying to get my career on track again. After a few unfortunate situations I have finally found a stable position helping to make vaccines. It can be stressful, but it is worth it. I work night shift, so there are not as many chances to meet new people outside of work as there use to be. My shifts are 12 hours, which means I have more days (nights) off. I do have to work some weekends, though, but have time off during the week which is nice. I was always a night owl, but with my schedule I am now up all night, every night. Now if I could just find something to do at 3am besides watch infomercials.
I’m really good at
Learning new skills, observing my surroundings (good for safety at work), math, science, gardening, woodworking, troubleshooting and solving problems, listening, and being a good friend. I've learned some cooking skills, but would love to get better at it.
The first things people usually notice about me
Most people tell me that I'm quiet when they first meet me. I think it is usually because I'm trying to learn as much about them as I can. I open up quickly, though.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I usually read science fiction/fantasy, mystery, and horror to escape life, but I also like to read history and science books to learn more about the real world. I've enjoyed many books by Stephen King and Dean Koontz, as well as Michio Kaku. A recent find that I enjoyed was The Front Porch Prophet by Raymond L. Atkins.

I'll watch any movie at least once.

As for shows, I enjoy The Big Bang Theory, Burn Notice, The Walking Dead, Game of Thrones, Fringe, Warehouse 13, and Community. I also like to watch shows on Discovery, Science, and ESPN networks.

I enjoy most types of music. I've recently been listening to alternative, rock, and folk bands. Linkin Park, Mumford & Sons, Iron and Wine, Bon Iver, Calexico, Coldplay, Carbon Leaf, Noah and the Whale, Frightened Rabbit, Pink Floyd, the Beatles, and Johnny Cash to name a few.
Six things I could never do without
1. my family and friends
2. knowledge
3. computer/cell phone/internet
4. music
5. a good book
6. sense of humor
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What the past has taught me and what the future may hold.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at work or at home. I work night shift, so I'm on a different schedule than most people and don't get to hang out as often as I would like. When I can, I enjoy having serious conversations or just goofing off with close friends and a beer. Cooking at home, going out, and live concerts and events are always popular as well.
The two of us