48Kitchener, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a:
Computer Engineer by training,
Board and video game player by inclination,
An introvert by nature,
Social butterfly and generally extroverted for fun.
What I’m doing with my life
In no particular order, I work as a manager type person in a local software development firm. I have an active and large social network both local to KW and in Ottawa and I enjoy spending time with my friends and lovers.

I have a lot of hobbies, though I don't actually spend much time on them. And I've got some weight that I'd really like to get rid of, but I'm not doing a lot about it right now. :) Though if I can continue running or get back to fencing, that would help a lot.
I’m really good at
Listening and massage.
I listen well and intently, and absorb and generally retain the things I learn. I do talk, because I think conversations should be two way exchanges, but I suspect that I listen more than I talk.
I'm just an enthusiastic amateur as far as massage goes, but some of my friends seek me out repeatedly so that's clear validation.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm told that my smile and my voice are both immediately notable. My voice is generally a baritone and it's received well enough that I've been asked to do amateur voice work from time to time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For books, my tastes are broad. Dabblings across practically everything but predominantly Sci-Fi or Fantasy (Jim Butcher, Roger Zelazny, Lois Bujold, David Weber, Michael Smith, Naomi Novik and the like) but I am an engineer by training and a big geek about how people think, so my non-fiction reading tends to be eclectic (John Kotter and Dan Pink most recently).

My taste in movies is much like my taste in books - generally mainstream with many outliers. Mainly action and comedy. To pick a few archtypical examples: The Avengers, Big Trouble in Little China, The Princess Bride, Casino Royale.
I really enjoy live theatre and like to go see shows at Stratford or at our local little theatre Kitchener Waterloo Little Theatre (KWLT). I'm very involved with KWLT generally, as is much of my local social network. I've been in four live stage shows, usually as a stage hand.

My taste in music covers just about anything except Rap. I can swing quite cheerfully from Loreena McKennitt to Metallica back to Classical with stops for Apocolyptica, Bond and Garbage. Although I do have a soft spot in my heart for classic 80's rock of all sorts.

I was raised on a very classically North American diet but I've expanded that narrow selection continuously since I was a child. I'm omnivorous and enjoy trying new food. I *love* sushi, Thai, and Indian. My diet is frequently light on meat or is even vegan, but I love steak, ribs & chicken.
Six things I could never do without
Physical Things? Not many things. I can get six, but it's a stretch.

- My computer (computer games, online contact with friends)
- My car (much as I would prefer to live close to work, I have too many activities outside of KW)
- My coffee maker (I could go without, but I won't if I don't have to)
- My books (in paper or electronic, I love to read)
- My bed (pretty obvious)
- My shower (a hot shower is a constant delight, and I really don't wake up until I have one)

Intangible things?
- Play (I enjoy playing with my friends and lovers, often in different ways)
- Touch (casual or deliberate, sensual or friendly)
- Discussion (I don't really enjoy debating, but I love exploring topics)
- New Things (I love learning new skills, finding new food, understanding something new)
- Conversation (I enjoy people, learning about them, what makes them tick, or tic)
- Something to Learn (whether for work, or just for myself, I enjoy learning new things. Which I think partially explains my train of hobbies)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lots of things. Sometimes it's work (which can be technology or people related), sometimes it's Relationships and how they work, or how to lay out the furniture in my apartment.
On a typical Friday night I am
...out with friends. Or more typically, in with friends at their place(s). Many of my friends have children and it's easier for me to visit them than it is for them to split child care or bring the children around. Generally we're sitting around talking, playing games of one sort or another, or waiting to catch a late show once the kids are gone to bed.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hated shaving for years because I was cursed with sensitive skin and a tough, fast growing beard. Yet now I quite enjoy shaving - with a straight razor.
It's not that the blade itself appeals to me, but it appeals because something that is usually a chore can become a skill based activity with a direct personal reward for being done well.
You should message me if
...if I sound like somebody you'd like to get to know better. I'm busy these days, but still enjoy meeting new people.
The two of us