45 Haslet, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
TLDR - if you aren't the type to read a profile before you write, you aren't my type.

I prioritize improving myself, the world, and the lives of others. I would like to find someone who strives for the same. I'm vegan. It's a lifestyle, and not just about what I eat. Don't be fooled into thinking I eat salads all day! I'm a bit of foodie, and going out to eat with my friends is probably one of my favorite social activities.

I'm probably one of the most emotionally stable people you'll meet. I don't tolerate drama or emotional lability well. I like to surround myself with positive people who strive for a healthy mind and body. I'm happy in a variety of environments, from relaxing at home to being active in nature to enjoying the city.

I am self-employed, and try to limit my work-for-pay, so that I have plenty of time to volunteer for the many non-profits that I love. I am an activist for animal rights, human rights, and the environment. I love to travel, and usually take several trips a year. NYC, DC, Austin, California, and Florida are the places I visit the most, but my favorite places tend to involve the ocean, and being in it.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm trying to make the world a better place & end some of the suffering. Working some, volunteering some, traveling some, snuggling with my dogs at all other times.
I’m really good at
Packing. (as in a suitcase, not a weapon) I'm not so great at the unpacking, though. I always seem to postpone that until it's time to pack for my next trip.
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair? I'm short? My eyes?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I really don't have a lot of time to read books, and grad school mostly killed any pleasure I once found in reading. I spend most of my time reading psychological reports, dissertations, essay questions, and other work stuff. My favorite book of all time is The Monk by Matthew G Lewis. Not only is it a brilliant gothic novel, but Lewis wrote it in less than 3 months when he was still a teenager.

I'm more into independent films than big hollywood movies, but I like any movie that is well done. I love Bollywood and Asian horror. I also like 3D movies, and the DBox theaters like they have in Austin and Houston and apparently every other big city besides Dallas. I try to make most every film festival in the DFW area.

My musical tastes are pretty varied, from alternative, old country and western, rock, pop, Broadway tunes, Top 40, to Indian music. I love local music and indie bands, but jazz puts me to sleep, and new country hurts my brain. Some of my favorite bands include Blue October, Band of Skulls, Dashboard Confessional, Bat for Lashes, Airborne Toxic Event, and Third Eye Blind.

I'm vegan, but don't think for a second that I only eat salads. I do love raw food, though, as well as Thai, Korean, Indian, Ethiopian, Mexican, and Mediterranean. Some of my favorite dishes are pad kee mao, mandoo, sukhi bhaji, pizza, purple rice pudding, and anything with chocolate, of course.
The six things I could never do without
It doesn't take much to make me happy. I'm pretty sure I could do without pretty much everything except food, water, air, and shelter from harsh weather. However, six things that make my life fan-f*cking-tabulous are travel, the amazing people in my life, my iPhone, my dogs, being outdoors, and yummy vegan food.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make the world a better place and how to help others... my patients, my friends and family, and all the animals in the world. Well, that and where and what I'm going to eat the next time I'm in NYC.
On a typical Friday night I am
at home watching a movie or goofing off on the internet, putting off the work I need to do.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am on waaaay too many dating sites.

I'm not really a fan of the label bisexual. It seems to imply to others that I'm having sex with at least two people at any given time, which is actually at least two more than reality. It also implies that gender is a dichotomy instead of a continuum, with which I don't agree. I consider myself pansexual. Gender isn't an issue in attraction for me.
You should message me if
You are vegan or vegetarian for sure, but also if you are intelligent, compassionate, attractive, fit, like to do outdoorsy and active things, or think we have anything else in common! You are capable of carrying your end of the conversation, and are capable of more than just small talk (to the hundreds of people who just want to know "how are you?" - I AM FINE, THANKS.) Also, you are interested in a being in a monogamous relationship. No couples. Seriously.