57Augusta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello...and thanks for reading my little essay. I feel like I am at a great place in life - I LOVE being a school librarian (I get paid to read stories to kids, what's not to like???), I have a great home that is full of love, thanks to 2 dogs and 5 cats who are sweet, funny little souls, and a wonderful family (2 parents, 3 siblings and 6 nieces/nephews). I have some awesome and long-standing friendships that ROCK...but I am missing that one guy who makes everything that much more special and fun. I know he's out there and I am feeling brave enough to look for him again...hope springs eternal!

What I’m doing with my life
I am very, very happy to be a school librarian. My principal is completely awesome, and I am crazy about most of the teachers in my school, too. I also work part-time in a local college library, which is good because I get to interact with college students. I found my niche late in life, but that only makes me appreciate it all so much more!
I’m really good at
I think I'm good at helping people and animals. I love taking care of my pets. For myself, I am getting better at running, which helps keep me in shape. I want to do better in my yoga/meditation practice, because that helps keep the stress at bay...
The first things people usually notice about me
Oh dear, I'm afraid it might be the pet hair that sticks to my clothes a lot of times! Aside from the pet hair, maybe people notice that I am usually having a fun time, because I like to crack up with my friends and family!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books would include anything by John Robbins (a great vegetarian author, and I know that sounds odd), Pema Chodron (an American Buddhist nun, she is so cool!), and my very favorite fiction author is Hermann Hesse. He wrote Siddartha and The Glass Bead Game, and includes lots of Eastern philosophy in his books, which I really enjoy.
My favorite movies include old horror movies (Frankenstein, Dracula, nothing too scarey), any Christopher Guest movie (Best in Show, A Mighty Wind, they are sooo funny), Ben-Hur and Mary Poppins (a favorite from my kid-hood).
Music - anything from the 70's and 80's, especially John Denver, the Eagles, Aerosmith, Bon Jovi, Gordon Lightfoot, James Taylor. I like some of the older rap songs, but the new stuff with lots of swearing is not for me.
Food - I'm a vegan (a vegetarian who eats no eggs, dairy or meat), so this can get a little tricky. I cook a lot at home, but I also like Indian and Middle Eastern food, especially. I am not a picky eater, as long as there aren't any animals involved...
Six things I could never do without
My pets
A glass of red wine now and then
A treadmill to run on
A yoga mat
My friends (they are not things but I could never do without them!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Living simply so that I can have more freedom.
On a typical Friday night I am
relaxing with my pets, and maybe trying to clean up a little so I don't have to do it over the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't know what to say, I will have to think about this one.
You should message me if
You are kind-hearted, tolerant and open-minded. I am open to new friends, or the love of my life...whatever God/Goddess/The Universe wants to send is fine with me!
The two of us