veggielover2
48 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
veggielover2
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I’m not a big fan of labels as a way of defining who we are but if any of these scare you then you can click on the next profile now and happy hunting. DadEnvironmentalistVegetarianEngineerOutdoorsyAnimal lover.

As my tag line suggests, I’m vegetarian and have been since 1992 but you don't have to be. I'm happiest outdoors doing whatever but love cycling most of all. I also have a small addiction to listening my Audible books whenever, often on a bike ride or working in my garden.

I do a bit of volunteering but time is my most valuable commodity these days and I'm trying to cut back. My weekends usually leave on a ride (or skiing), working on my house/garden or heading out of town for the weekend. I don't watch much TV programming at all but still enjoy the occasional movie at home.

Animal lovers apply here! I have the menagerie at home with 3 cats, a big dog and my 4yo son half the time. I’m pretty settled in Oakland due to my home, business and son all in Oaktown so I’m looking to meet someone who either already lives 10-15 miles to Oakland or can at least imagine themselves living in the East Bay with an awesome guy with his own menagerie.

While I love my son very much, I have had a vasectomy and cannot have any additional children. While I love my son more than anything, I feel there's already too many people on this planet. Of course if you have your own kids (1-2), that’s great too.
What I’m doing with my life
By far the biggest change in my life was becoming a father (see movie “The other F’Word”). I take it very seriously although myself not too much. I’m lucky in that I have a very well behaved, happy and "easy to raise" son. He thinks his daddy is the greatest guy in the world and I try to live up to that unrealistic expectation every day.
I've been a cyclist (former racer) since a teenager and this continues to be my favorite outdoor activity. I also enjoy most other outdoor sports and would like to learn a new one if you’re willing to teach me.

In my life and actions I've always wanted to make the world a better place to live and I think I've found a way to do some of this through my work. I'm a partner at an engineering firm that prides itself in green/sustainable building systems. The work is very hard at times and constantly battles my efforts to "slow down", get back outdoors and remain "balanced".
I’m really good at
Cycling, being a daddy, skiing, cursing, and dry sarcastic humor.
Peanut Butter Smoothies:
- 1.5 cups of almond or cashew milk
- 1 Tablespoon of dark chocolate powder
- 1 Tablespoon of real vanilla
- 2 bananas chopped, bagged and frozen overnight
- A "Fuckload Dollop" of natural peanut butter (none of that Jiffy shit)
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes or my hair unless my son or dog are with me in which case you'll hardly notice me:).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite authors: Orson Scott Card, Thomas Friedman, George Orwell, Khaled Hosseini, Malcolm Gladwell, Bill Bryson, or Michael Pollan. Also love several Sci-Fi/Fantasy sagas like The Commonwealth Saga, Iron Druid Chronicles and The Riyria Revelations.

Movies: Shawshank Redemption, A Beautiful Mind, The Departed, Field of Dreams, The Last of the Mohicans, LOTR, Matrix , The Power of One, Phenomenon, Philadelphia, Revenge, The Princess Bride, Powder, The Red Violin, The American President, Cinema Paradiso, Blade Runner, The English Patient, The Hangover, Moulin Rouge, The Departed, The Hobbit

Music: I listen to the most are Punk covers, skate punk, alternative but I'll listen to most types of music except country or opera. Rise Against, Bad Religion, GreenDay, Pennywise and Me First and the Gimme Gimmes frequently make my playlists.

Food: Vegetarian/Vegan food. Favorite is Mexican so I planted a huge avocado and lime tree in my back yard so I can make guac and margaritas whenever I like. I also love Indian, Thai, & Italian.
The six things I could never do without
1. my son
2. being outdoors
3. sex
4. my pets
5. our planet
6. a really nice carbon road bike
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to raise a young man who will make a difference and not just another resource consuming mouth breather.

How to design more sustainable building systems that consume less water & energy.

How to spend enough time at work to make a difference but leave enough for fun and stress cleansing time on my road bike.
On a typical Friday night I am
Heading home from the gym to enjoy a well-deserved margarita OR packing for my next weekend getaway, sometimes both.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
1) I have a dual addiction to both audible books addition (Audible.com) and my Vitamix blender; I'm not seeking treatment for either.

2) I'm an ISTJ under the Myers-Briggs personality type indicator.

3) As an effort to save us from both wasting our time, I wanted to throw out that I do think its quite health and normal for a couple have sex everyday; yes even after the honeymoon period. If your idea of "ideal is 1-3 times a week then we're probably not physical compatible.

Yeah I know that's 3 things, so sue me or just hint for me to take you out as punishment for breaking the OKC rules.
You should message me if
You love animals/kids, you're vegetarian or veggie friendly, athletic/outdoorsy, you’re hot and you think I'm hot. Admittedly, that's a tall order so if you just feel that you can knock my socks off, send me a quick note or favor/star me.

I’m pretty busy these days and can’t reply back to all despite the bad karma this probably creates but will do my best to reply regardless. Happy hunting ladies!
More