61Arlington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a well read & travelled bloke, with 60 laps around the sun, who's actively athletic (and aye, I look like my photos). And too bloody healthy and vigorous for it. Yet not hyper - balance calls for laze time. I've lived & travelled around a few places on the planet. Europe, Mid East, South & Southeast Asia, Aussie/NZ and Falls Church. (Independently, sometimes in more adventurous manners.) My style is to observe and absorb, as opposed to shopping and grog. And I try picking up what languages I can along the way. I'm fond of the outdoors and nature, whatever the weather. My bicycle is my car. A lifestyle choice. I'm unconventional, in that I haven't been following the script of knee jerk consumerism and debt. I'm a cultural blasphemer, having eschewed the telly. An intellectual curiosity has always shadowed me. Though I do enjoy film, especially foreign films. Politically, I'm progressive and egalitarian - closer to a European social democrat. Most Europeans & Aussies insist I'm a local over there. And I'm ugly as sin....I mean deadly handsome. And there's something about a sense of humour...

I am well-read, well-travelled, and well-well
What I’m doing with my life
For my travels, local events and creative quirks, there are my video creations.

I'd like to get back into orienteering. Alas, a car is needed to get to most meets. Though combining bike and train, I was able to lope through the woods for one meet last Autumn.
I’m really good at
Street/social photography is coming along. My gallery:
The first things people usually notice about me
My legs. But then I prefer wearing shorts - even in the winter.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A. Books (there are so many, here's a few all time faves)

The Magus & Daniel Martin by John Fowles, The Grapes of Wrath by john Steinbeck, Jessica by Bryce Courtenay, A Distant Mirror by Barbara Tuchman, The Riders & Cloudstreet, by Tim Winton, eaarth by Bill McKibbon

B. Films (a few faves again)

The Best of Youth (La Meglio Gioventù), Casablanca, Amelie, Rififi, Jean de Florette & Manon de Source, Gallipoli, Lola Rennte, As If in Heaven (Så som i himmelen)

C. Musica - My tastes are pretty well spread. Latest discoveries: Movits!, Florence + the Machine, Adele, X-Ray Spex, Lykke Li, Anna Calvi, Imelda May. And I have an affinity for French pop music.
Six things I could never do without
Bicycle Passport Camera Books Sunshine World band radio (via the Internet now)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next travel destination, though I'm torn between going some place to see old mates or venture some place new. New places tend to win.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The most private things aren't going to be posted anywhere on the Internet. So go on, waterboard me. I ain't talkin', mate.
You should message me if
I wouldn't mind meeting someone down-to-earth, intelligent, independent, outdoorsy, and active. As I haven't bred (the time for that has passed) , I'd prefer someone who hasn't as well. Having some common interests is fine, but a few differences stirred in can thwart the boredom of clones. I cope quite well as a solitaire, though it would be nice to have a partner - meaning I'm not desperate. Pluses to catch my fancy: Fit & athletic. A leaning more towards books than telly. Some international travel experience, having seen a bit of the world, will lasso my interest. And pragmatically since I've thumbed my nose at the car, residing a reasonable distance from my own abode in the highrise duchy of Rosslyn (sorry, if you're off in the hinter burbs).
The two of us