61Glendale, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm the one on the right! The termite is a resident of the Jim Henson Creature Workshop, a wonderful place that I have had the good fortune to work at a couple of times.

I've worked in the Television Industry in Hollywood for 30 years as an editor, first on Music & Variety Specials and more recently on Sitcoms. I graduated from Ohio University with a Major in Radio-Television.

I was in Ohio for two years starting in June of 2010 to help my mother, who was in the hospice-at-home program. I am her only child and we lost my father 8 years ago. She passed away on January 29, 2012. It took five months to close her Estate and sell the house, car and contents. I returned to LA in July of 2012.

I have never been married. I married my job earlier in my career and while I earned three Emmy Awards & many other accolades, the long hours and inability to plan because of a changing work schedule made it hard to also have a relationship. Thus, I have no children. I like kids, however as long as they turn into pumpkins in the nighttime.

My hobbies include computers, exercising, walking & hiking amateur radio and travel. I also like good food & restaurants and company. I traveled for 28 days in 2012 visiting London, Moscow, a boat cruise up the Volga to St. Petersburg, Prague and Munich. Whew! Did I mention that I then flew to Chicago to revisit the place where I did my college internship? I hadn't been back there in 36 years!

I also spent Christmas of 2014 on a cruise from L.A. to Ft. Lauderdale via the Panama Canal. It was fascinating and I met a lot of wonderful folks.

I have a timeshare on the Big Island and have spent several weeks in the past two years visiting there. It is a wonderful place to relax and regroup, especially after a long, trying season of work.

I started working out in August of 2010 and have lost quite a bit of weight in that time (my photo is before the weight loss). I spend an hour 2 times a week at the gym and enjoy it! I spend a lot of time on the elliptical machine and on the weights. I put about 10 of those pounds back when working but am back at the weights and elliptical trying to work them off.

Thanks to my FitBit, I am walking nearly 5 miles a day most days (at least 5 days a week) through Montrose. I treat myself to a Tropical Passion Iced Tea at the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf before trekking onward.
What I’m doing with my life
My life has been on hold for the last several years as my mother was diagnosed with uterine & cervical cancer. I spent all of 2008 and most of 2009 with her going through the radiation, surgery and chemo. Mom passed away on January 29, 2012 and I have closed her Estate and sold her home. I returned to California after spending 3 years in Columbus, Ohio.

I worked in Atlanta for a year on a sitcom project for a big name producer (who cannot be named). That was a fun experience and I learned a lot and got to spend time with college friends who live there.

I have worked on two pilots and two series since my return and am currently looking for a show for the Fall TV Season.
I’m really good at
I am an editor and I have the ability to do that job quite well. I have three Emmy Awards for various shows which I did when I worked in Music & Variety.

Editors have to sift through mountains of material, keep it organized, remember it and put it together in a way that makes sense and flows. The other half of the job is convincing a nervous Producer that this is the best way to tell their story and that it is funnier this way than another (or better if it isn't supposed to be funny!).

I also have some natural ability to understand computers (PC's mainly) and love to play with my smartphone (Android) - making it do more stuff for me, automating parts of my life.

I am an avid investor and spend time listening to CNBC and on my computer watching my stocks go up or down. I am a capitalist and don't want to occupy anything (except my chair)!

I am also a good traveler. I've been to the North Pole (via ice-breaker) to "hunt" polar bears with a camera, been up the Caledonian Canal in Scotland, visited friends in Ireland and England, swam with Sea Lions in the Galapagos Islands, visited Macchu Picchu and have been to Germany, Switzerland and Austria. I also spent eleven days in Russia - in Moscow and in St. Petersburg. I really love travel and look forward to many more trips - perhaps following my father's WWII footsteps through the South Pacific & Australia.
The first things people usually notice about me
I hope it's my smile but maybe it is the arm growing out of my left ear. (Son! I say Son!! That's a joke!)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Bill Bryson books, Nelson DeMille novels, History (especially 1910 to the present). I love my Kindle. I finished Jeff Shara's "The Steel Wave" & "The Rising Tide", historical novels about the D-Day Invasion & North Africa. I'm also reading about the "Twenty Committee" - it was known as the "XX" committee because they managed the "Double Cross" of German intelligence during WWII. For some reason espionage & encryption history interests me.

Movies: Not a lot of films interest me. They are aimed at 12 year-old boys because they will go see them multiple times. I like the "Harry Potter" and "Narnia" series. Historical dramas & stories like "The King's Speech" often catch my interest.

I just saw "Love & Mercy" - about the trials and tribulations of Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys and the woman who "rescued" him. I highly recommend it. It was the first film I have bothered to go to a theater to see in years (excluding the free Academy & DGA screenings, of course).

TV: Like "The Good Wife", "NCIS", "Aquarius" and from across the pond: "Doc Martin", "Mrs. Brown's Boys","Downton Abbey", "Inspector Lewis", "Inspector Lynley", "Foyle's War", "Endeavour", "Midsomer Murders", "Father Ted" and "Mr. Bean." Hmmm... no sitcoms in that list and since they are my craft I would add "The Big Bang Theory" (I have lots of friends working on that one) and "Last Man Standing".

Music: I still love "Chicago", "Steely Dan", "Mark Knopfler", "The Beatles" and similar stuff. I have been to see "Chicago" in concern a dozen times in the past three years & met Jimmy Pankow, the trombonist/arranger. As a former trombonist, I appreciate the intricate horn parts.

Lately I have developed an interest in some Country music - because I like the stories and the different ways that they look upon life situations. Brad Paisley, Don Williams and many others are on my "Slacker Radio" app.

Food: I LOVE Italian food, German, Chinese and American. I am open to other stuff but don't tolerate peppers of any kind so I have to be careful. That limits (but doesn't eliminate) Mexican and to an extent some Chinese. I'm also limited on my seafood tastes but I do like shrimp. I manage to find meals most of the time!
Six things I could never do without
1. Italian food
2. My Android phone (LG G4)
3. Friends
4. Family
5. TV & DVR including Roku
6. Travel
(definitely not in this order!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, life, places to visit, string theory (how do those little strings keep things together so tightly?), sex and pasta. Seems like the sex thinking has diminished a little in recent years. Hmmmmm.... maybe if I mixed it with pasta????
On a typical Friday night I am
Having coffee, out of town (Vegas, San Diego, Cambria, Singapore, the Desert?) or watching something on the Roku.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am an alien from the planet Xenon here to prepare the Earth for our upcoming occupation. Do not resist our plans for colonization. No? Okay, um...

I am happier when I am with other people but I have grown comfortable in being alone with myself. Analyze that, Mr. Freud!
You should message me if
You like what you see, have two arms and two legs. Just kidding... I'm not excluding anybody.
The two of us