36San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for someone to keep me company and an activity partner to laugh with and make dinner for, someone to go on a bike ride with or to the movies and especially to concerts. I want to learn how to dance properly.
What I’m doing with my life
I grew up in S. Florida, then did my undergrad and grad school in N. Florida. I lived in NYC for four years, working for a company that hired me out of grad school. I just moved to San Francisco to work with some friends at a small startup.

I attempt to make time to: explore San Francisco, make new friends, go out and try new things, ride my bike to new places. I also like relaxing with friends or having a late afternoon BBQ.

I go to the gym 5 days a week and do some boxing, running, weights, and crossfit type stuff. I did a lot of yoga in grad school and am trying to fit more of that in also.

I make time to play my guitar whenever I can. I am working to put together a couple of songs so I can attend open mics around town. I've been told my singing voice compares favorably to Jeff Buckley.

So I just got back from PEX Summer Festival and it was sooooo
I felt at home there. Everybody was so nice and accepting and it was OK to be weird.
The art exhibits and dancing and the various pavilions were so awesome. I stayed with a DC arts collective called Meso Creso, which had a neat Middle Eastern themed camp and pavilion.
I met so many cool people there and had such an amazing time.
The sense of community I felt from everybody I met felt so right and it made me wonder why the rest of life couldn't be this way.
And the big group dance ceremony around the burning man effigy was incredible. It felt like I was part of my own tribe of people.
I can't wait to go to another burner event!

It occurs to me after rereading this that I need some more superlatives in my every-day vocabulary.
I’m really good at
I am pretty good at cooking. I am somewhat analytical though not obsessively so. I can play some mean old slide guitar.
I am good at accents.
The first things people usually notice about me
I guess I am tall and somewhat barrel chested. I am told I have nice legs and I am not one of those guys who is afraid to wear shorter shorts to the gym or beach when the weather is warm.
I have a space between my teeth that is distinctive.

My new glasses are very round and my boss accused me of resembling Harry Potter. I think they are sharp looking though.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have been reading Bernard Cornwell lately, who writes historical fiction about England - frequently chronicling characters who play a role in milestones throughout English history.
I really like Shakespeare, especially the modern adaptations in films like Richard III (1995), Titus (1999), and Macbeth (2010) -
where all the sets are taken into a more modern context, yet the characters and dialog remain (mostly) unchanged.

I love Indian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Italian, & Cuban food. I like cooking a lot. I love fancy pants craft beer. Last summer a friend got us tickets to take the tour of Dogfish Head in Rehoboth. It was a lot of fun. And the beach was nice too.

This season I have been watching The Americans, Game of Thrones, Hannibal, and House of Cards. I don't have TV, just internet.

I love live music. I just saw Andrew Bird live and he was pretty amazing. I have tickets right now to see Fiona Apple, Neko Case, & Florence and the Machine. I saw the Civil Wars in DC on U street and they were so good!

September - went to see Bon Iver and they were incredible!
Also recently saw Milo Greene at the Rock and Roll Hotel on H St in DC. Their singing and quiet/loud dynamics really slay me.
I like the way everyone trades off instruments on different songs and that everybody sings. It is great that they have a lady in the band too.

Right now I have tickets to see the XX/Grizzly Bear, the Lumineers, the Postal service, and Aimee Mann.
Six things I could never do without
My Bike - I don't own a car
NPR - Listen to it every morning when I wake up
My messenger bag
My guitar
My kitchen deserves an honorable mention, since I enjoy using it so much.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I can make my life be more fun? How can I better connect with people and find community?
How can I have intimacy and genuine meaningful human interactions with friends, family, and acquaintances?
How can I create/seek out opportunities in my life to further these endeavors?
On a typical Friday night I am
It depends, sometimes I don't find anything to do,
so I just wind up going to the gym, then home to make
dinner and go to bed.
Nights when I find planned activities via meetup groups or if I am invited to something, I like to go out and be with people.
Some example activities might include riding bikes, or seeing live music, drinking beer with friends in the neighborhood, or maybe cooking dinner for friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think being naked is fun and not just in a sexual context. Although if we go out together I promise to be fully clothed and gentlemanly in my conduct.
You should message me if
You want to go for a bike ride with me or out to see some live music. You are intelligent and active. You are thoughtful. You like books. You want to teach me how to dance.
The two of us