63 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I spent several years living in Mexico: dancing in a University dance group and buying and selling folk art. I also lived and worked in Barcelona for 3 years. I’ve been to Cuba several times as well as to various countries in Asia and Latin America. I still carry all those influences and insights from the days of my travels, but now when the travel bug hits, I am less likely to buy a ticket, and more likely to get out a map (the fold-up kind!), stock my car with fruit and nuts, and take to the highway in search of forests, coast and cliffs, hot springs and small towns. Nature has become my haven for renewal.

I have a wonderful capacity to be happy with simple things: a great meal, a ripe mango, an hour in the farmer’s market, a walk in the redwoods, a swim in a river, November light. I am sassy and spontaneous, although direct (my New York influence?), yet I prefer clarity to ambiguity. I'm usually at ease with the contradictions. I'm passionate about the things that excite and ignite me, whether it's a new friend, new ideas or conversations about a moving film.
What I’m doing with my life
I am embracing and enjoying it in any way I can. I love weekends away, but when I'm here I go to movies, concerts, plays, museums and restaurants with a lot of time in between for reading, writing and contemplating. I swim to keep fit and because I'm happy in the water. My life presently is a balance of inner discovery and out adventure; I am a seeker: both an external as well as an internal adventurer, seeking avenues for growth and deeper understanding of myself and the world around me. I love to sing and dance, and am learning to play the ukulele.
I’m just a few years (or less) from retiring. I’d like to move to a small house in the country with a garden and a wood-burning stove. I'd also like to buy a one-way ticket to Asia and fulfill the dream of doing volunteer work in Cambodia, going on retreat in India, and visiting or working at an elephant sanctuary in Thailand. Mostly I look forward to not planning anything and seeing what evolves.
I’m really good at
asking questions, listening to the answers, dancing, swimming and saving money. I cook well although simply. I'm a great traveler: adaptable and comfortable among different people and cultures.
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair (wild, curly and gray) and a youthful playful quality in my green eyes
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Pema Chodrin, Rumi, all Geraldine Brooks,’ novels, David Whyte’s
World Music: African, Latin, Sacred World Chants
Classical: Brahms, Beethoven’s Late quartets
Jazz: classic and vocals: Bill Evans, Diana Krall, Billy, Sarah,
Wailin’ Jennies,
I love to eat almost all healthy food made of high quality ingredients: Thai, Japanese, Indian, huge salads, nuts and green drinks to start the day
The six things I could never do without
Water: for swimming, soaking, making tea with, and for taking long hot showers
Redwood forests and beaches with rock formations and coves
Silence, and quiet time
Fresh healthy food
My journal and smooth quick pen
Friends who know and understand me
I spend a lot of time thinking about
where I’ll be in a year or 2 when I retire, becoming more grateful and appreciative of what I have, and
when and where I might meet a wonderful man for an intimate relationship
On a typical Friday night I am
doing one of several things. It could be dinner and a movie with a friend, ushering at Yerba Buena Center, playing my ukulele at home, or eating popcorn with olive oil and parmesan and watching a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I loved (and was addicted to) “Mad Men”. Thankfully, that phase is over!
You should message me if
you are honest with yourself and others, if you know yourself and want to share what you know, and if you are willing to communicate what’s going on below the surface. Also if you like to be silly and just “hang out”, take walks and risks, and eat healthy. A healthy libido, a good sense of your body and physical affection are greatly appreciated.