wayneg1957
58 Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
wayneg1957
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Divorced for six years after a thirty year marriage, retired college professor (electrical engineering), two adult children out on their own. I live in a small house in the Brookline section of Pittsburgh, convenient to most of our city's great activities. I retired from my full time teaching gig at a relatively young age, inspired by Thoreau's words "I trust that I shall never thus sell my birthright for a mess of pottage". I'm left handed, allergic to cats and cigarette smoke, and a social drinker (love that good craft beer).

Religion wise, I would describe myself as a "hopeful agnostic". I feel there is more than we can ever know (or even comprehend), and I tend to shy away from people who claim they have the definitive answer (either extreme) since I believe that no one conclusively does.
What I’m doing with my life
Helping my Father, children, siblings, or neighbors whenever help is needed. Environmentally speaking, trying to be the change I want to see. Recently I took the train to Cumberland Md and bicycled the GAP back to Pittsburgh over two days. Last summer I bicycled from Pittsburgh to Erie (145 miles) in one day. On 11/28/15 I rode in and completed the Dirty Dozen ride, officially climbing all 13 hills that drizzly day.

Bicycling (especially hill climbing) keeps me fit, healthy, and (relatively) sane.
I’m really good at
Getting broken things working again and making lemonade out of lemons. Pedaling uphill. Keeping my 11 year old Ford Ranger under 5,000 yearly miles to earn an emissions inspection exemption.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm riding a bicycle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Most of the time I eat vegetarian (but I certainly don't necessarily expect that of a date). I eat no dairy, and chicken once a month or so. I avoid foods with extra sugar. I usually have one or two beers after dinner every evening for "dessert". The Zenith Tea Room on the South Side is one of my favorite places to eat. Another place for great food (both vegan and omnivore) is Spak Brothers on Penn Ave. I love Chinese food (without msg).

For music, it's mostly WYEP but occasionally I get in a WDVE mood.

Just read: "The Drunkard's Walk - How Randomness Rules Our Lives". I highly recommend it. Currently reading the 3rd edition of "Bicycling Science" by David Gordon Wilson.

I don't see a ton of movies. When I do I prefer comedies over something sad and serious. Horror movies I just don't get at all.
The six things I could never do without
There are very few things we could NEVER do without. Here are six things I would not WANT to do without:

A good relationship with my children, Father, and siblings
My bicycles
Craft beer
Meaningful projects to work on
Exercise
Burning firewood to help heat my home
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How unfair and random life is, and how we need to reach out and grab some happiness along the way.
On a typical Friday night I am
Enjoying happy hour; maybe at an outside music performance (during the nice weather).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Sometimes when an angry motorist yells at me while I'm bicycling I'm too tired to give them the peace sign and I only manage to get one finger up.
You should message me if
You don't have cats, you don't smoke, you are truly single, and you think we might be compatible.
More