weezbo
42 Delaware, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
weezbo
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Update to my situation: no longer employed 3rd shift. I'm a day walker with a full time programming job.

Single father of a 17 year old boy.

Martial artist, runner, swimmer, weight lifting guy, programmer, occasional gamer, lover of books and movies, and, oh yeah, budding guitarist. Avid collector of trivial knowledge.
What I’m doing with my life
A whole lot of studying, guitar practicing, running, writing, and punching people for fun (and getting punched back, when they can. We all pay for the privilege, so it's OK). Gaming with my son. Golfing and bowling very badly.

Did a Spartan Super once. Might be willing to do it again. AROO!

Professionally, I'm a php developer.

I also used to volunteer with a puppetry troupe to put on shows for elementary school children. So if you see a large bag that appears to have a body in it in my car, that's the muppet style puppet. Probably.
I’m really good at
Learning new things. Pop culture references. Growing hair.

Shorin ryu style karate. Scored my brown belt now. Black is next!

Running ever increasing distances.

Ditto swimming. Did my first mile long swim on 4/11/14!

Also, picking up heavy things and then putting them back down.

Resisting the urge to post shirtless selfies to my profile. I'm great at that. Also great at not sending unsolicited shirtless or otherwise unclothed pics.

Quit smoking and have now remained cold turkey from all nicotine products since 7/2/2015!

Also got fat again because of the quitting smoking thing. I'll be doing away with that weight during 2016. This is going great. Halfway to where I was before!
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm beardy. And that I'm usually quick with a smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book authors: Heinlein, Rothfuss, Spider Robinson, Scott Lynch, Terry Pratchett, Mary Roach.

Movies: Super Troopers. Leon. The Fifth Element. Princess Bride. The whole Monty Python filmography. The Spanish Prisoner.

Shows: BBC stuff. Daily Show and Colbert. The Wire. Game of Thrones, when I get to see it. Walking Dead. The first few seasons of Battlestar Galactica (the reboot). West Wing.

Music: Peaked in the late 60s, early 70s. Boston, Zeppelin, Beatles, Pink Floyd, Zappa.

Food: Asian stuff, primarily. Especially pho or Korean dishes. But I dig foods of many kinds.
The six things I could never do without
My son.
Books.
A computer.
Lately, my guitar.
Running shoes.
I would have said "my mind" but I've been losing it occasionally lately and it doesn't seem to have hurewe rm ie.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The stories I want to tell and the stories I hope to make.

How to travel abroad for extended periods and get someone else to pay for it. Since I don't anticipate any book deals in the works, I'm thinking either Peace Corps or English teaching. Working on college to qualify for the former and I'll be volunteering to teach ESL locally for experience once I'm done with school and my kid still isn't.
On a typical Friday night I am
Wondering what other people are doing on Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've actually kind of misted up at the ends of two separate episodes of How I Met Your Mother. I'm not proud of this but, damn it, this is the place to reveal awful truths.
You should message me if
... you like my answers and want some laughs. Or deep discussions. Or have a new restaurant you want to try out. Or want to go ride bikes. Or go running the Spartan with me when it comes to Ohio. Well, maybe that should be a discussion after we meet.
More