whynot6234
34 Belleville, France
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
whynot6234
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
French-American, back in Paris after a year off in Montreal and excited to settle back in and rediscover my beloved city. (Ok... It's been 3 years :p)
I used this site in Montreal and met some pretty incredible guys so I'm giving it a try here as well - I mostly want to meet new people to go out and why not make an interesting connection if the feeling's there.
I'm an educational psychologist and I'm very passionate about my job. I love dancing salsa and forró, watching football games in pubs, reading, hiking, meeting new people and discovering new places and venues (looking for spoken words, klezmer concerts, dance shows, documentary screenings...). I rarely drink but if you know where I can find a good Hendricks&tonic, I'm alll ears.
What I’m doing with my life
Back from a year off, slowly getting my shit together, rediscovering Paris and meeting interesting people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything by Ben Elton, Joanne Harris, Virginie Despentes, Douglas Adams, Orson Scott Card, Jonathan Tropper, David Eddings, René Barjavel, Fred Vargas, Harlan Coben, Nick Hornby, Christopher Moore and generally books about predictive science-fiction, immigrant stories (the Namesake, Middlesex, 'Tis, A good indian wife...), and lately a lot of YA books and feminist novels (following Emma Watson's bookclub - come and join!).
And I'm always reading on the side a 'serious' book for research purposes (McGonigal, Gladwell, Gardner, Brown, de la Garanderie...).
Amanda Palmer is the queen of awesomeness.

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7485660-dreadymorticia

Shows: I'm seriously addicted (and having so much time lately doesn't help) and I guess most of the shows I watch can be labeled 'guilty pleasures'- so to help you judge my taste, here are a few of my old & new favorites: The Shield, Misfits, Game of Thrones, The West Wing, Luther, Gilmore Girls, Looking, Black Mirror, Oz, Survivor (yes, it's a reality tv show and yes I've seen every single episode), The IT Crowd, Firefly, Downton Abbey, Falling Skies, Boston Legal, Friends, You're the Worst and Real Humans.
Last summer, I was really into Deutschland 83, Unreal and Mr Robot.
This year's new fav are The Family and The Path (Aaron Paul ^^)
I like getting inspired by TEDTalks whenever I can.

Movies: Love action movies and scifi on big screens and drama, foreign and compelling ones comfortably on my couch (and good company). Not big on horror or comedy (but absolutely loved Hot Fuzz and Shaun of the Dead). I have a sweet spot for Bollywood movies. And the movies I've kept rewatching as the years go by are Groundhog day, La Belle Verte, The Gods must be crazy (Les dieux sont tombés sur la tête), Much Ado About Nothing and Swing kids.

Music: Pretty eccletic taste as I'm not into any specific genres - a little country (Zac Brown Band), a little metal (Rammstein), a little 90's rap (IAM, Tribe Called Quest), a little folk (Passenger, Mumford), a little reggae (Damian Marley)... I tend to fall in love with an album more than with a band or a genre. The two bands I will never miss a concert from are The Cat Empire and Stars.
Salsa and forro also have a big part in my life - you'll regularly see me dancing waiting for the metro or the light to turn red if any song come up my headphones.
I played piano for 7 years and for some reason the only pieces that stuck were from Erik Satie and I'm not complaining!
The six things I could never do without
Loved ones
Books (can't leave the house without one)
Salsa (every week) and forro (every month)
Internet connection
Discovering new ideas, places and people
Having French and English in my life (maybe Spanish, soon!)
On a typical Friday night I am
Either dancing salsa all night or doing something low key. I'm not a big fan of loud bars and clubs, especially since I'm usually sober. I love going out on a week night for a drink, a plancha and intense conversation.
You should message me if
You will be ok if I don't drink alcohol when we meet (don't worry I can make terrible decisions sober as well ^^).
You are genuinely curious to meet a new person and not just looking for someone, anyone, to spend the night with.
You live in Paris, or at least France - I'm not interested in penpals.
More