47Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Liberal, musician, nerd, animal rescuer, feminist, photographer, foodie, agnostic, bookworm

While not averse to new platonic friends, I'm primarily here looking for a partner to enhance my life. As a result, I'm focused on people who are open to a long-term relationship at this point in their lives. I'd love to find someone who shares some of my interests and activities, but I prefer an independent person who also has his/her own.

I match up best with curious, well-rounded people who enjoy sampling a wide variety of what life has to offer -- from food to music to activities. I would like to have someone to go out with (I miss seeing movies, and having a theater buddy), but I also want someone to stay home with. I'm seeking a partner interested in occasional museum trips, regular couch cuddles in front of a movie, special-occasion nights at the symphony, and book-reading at night together before bed.

I'm a thoughtful, positive person, and I appreciate open, honest, kind communication. I'm close with my family in a healthy, supportive, and functional way, so I like people who are family-oriented. But I also understand that not everyone is blessed with the healthy family relationships that I have.

I'm never interested in being the smartest person in the room. I appreciate people who are curious about the world, and I enjoy learning from others. I generally get along best with those who have respect and appreciation for human diversity and are thoughtful and introspective about things like gender roles.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a bookworm, and always have been; I don't go anywhere without a book (yay Kindles!). I enjoy occasional outings to the museums, Phipps Conservatory, and to other cultural activities such as the symphony and opera. I'm not big on sports, in general, but I do watch an occasional Pens game. I am an avid photographer, and while I don't claim to be particularly good at it, I do seem to have an itch to frame the world through a lens. I cook from scratch most of the food I eat -- and I don't mean out of cans and boxes! I also enjoy board games and cards, and I've been searching around for a Meetup group where I could play them more regularly.

I work in computer software. I write documentation (help, reference guides) and develop multimedia for engineering simulation software. So, yes, I geek for a living.

I'm a musician, and music has been a constant in my life. I played several instruments growing up, and I still study voice and play piano when I can. I occasionally perform in musical theater productions as well.

I also volunteer as a Big Sister through Big Brothers Big Sisters, and as a photographer and foster parent for a local animal shelter. Giving back to my community is a big part of my identity.
I’m really good at
- Music
- Listening and doling out effective, but blunt, advice
- Reading very very quickly
- Making people smile
- Nesting
- Acting mature and understanding when I want to kick and scream
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: My taste in books runs the gamut from the essays of Sarah Vowell to the social satire of Jane Austen to the comedic mysteries of Janet Evanovich, and I read John Sandford and Sue Grafton just as enthusiastically as I read Edith Wharton and the Brontes. I do read more fiction than non-fiction, but I enjoy historical non-fiction like "Devil in the White City" or "The Ghost Map." Right now, I'm on an urban fantasy kick, but my taste goes in cycles.

Movies: Favorites include 80s John Hughes films (Breakfast Club, Some Kind of Wonderful), great action films like Bourne Supremacy and Die Hard, comedies like Ghostbusters and Galaxy Quest, Pixar films, and fantasy action such as Blade: Trinity and Underworld. I'm also a huge fan of Princess Bride, Office Space, and Kevin Smith films (Clerks, Dogma).

Music: As a musician and singer, I tend to be drawn to melodic and harmonic music, i.e. something I can sing along with. Favorites are Aimee Mann, Blue October, The Corrs, Depeche Mode, Florence & the Machine, Green Day, Fountains of Wayne, Imogen Heap, Jónsi, Keane, Lily Allen, Linkin Park, Pink Floyd, P!nk, Pet Shop Boys, Regina Spektor, and Sheryl Crow.

Foods: I am used to a racially diverse atmosphere, and I eat foods from a variety of cultures. Other than a preference for healthy food, I'm not a picky eater. I am technically an omnivore, still, but I cook vegetarian much of the time, so I'm veg-friendly (and probably not a good match for people who base their eating around meat).

I do love to feed people. If words like "escarole," "chickpeas," "shallots," "pine nuts," or "kale" don't scare you, then I look forward to cooking a meal for you!

Television: The Good Wife, The Walking Dead, Sherlock, Bunheads, Better Off Ted, Veronica Mars, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, Gilmore Girls, Freaks and Geeks, West Wing, La Femme Nikita, and Babylon 5.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a night owl (no matter how inconvenient it can be at times). I get more energetic as the day goes on. I do love to sleep -- I just hate going to bed!
You should message me if
... you are interested in intelligent conversation, our interests seem compatible, and you're local. Please be socially liberal and not a devout Christian, and be open to a long-term romantic relationship. (Also okay, if you think we'd make awesome platonic friends.)

Please have a photo posted. It's only fair.

I am much more interested in men who open with something other than "hi" or a physical compliment.

I do reply to interesting messages! However, I am not tethered to my phone by an invisible umbilical cord, so I usually reply only when I'm actively online and have free time to do so. Please don't get frustrated if I don't get back to you immediately. I may simply be busy or offline.
The two of us