70Honolulu, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I enjoy a full, happy, healthy, activity-filled life. I’m comfortable spending time alone but also believe that experiences are far more rewarding when shared with a companion. I’m looking for a companion to share experiences. Friendship precedes love. Let’s begin with friendship, fun and a good time leaving the door open for a more lasting relationship.

I grew up in the military living in many places including Europe for seven years. Upon graduating from the University of Oregon, I entered the Air Force. While on active duty, I earned an MBA at the University of Tennessee. I resigned after 13 years to join a family business. I later pursued a career in banking, real estate development and financial consulting and am now employed at a local bank. I’ve lived in Hawaii since 1988. I was committed to one person for about 30 years; that relationship ended 18 years ago.

I am a man of many interests; wish I had the time and means to explore and develop every one. I like to create things, make stuff. I dive into every new interest 100%. Over the years my pursuits have spanned bonsai to cabinet making with breeding fish and training bird dogs mixed in. I’ve ridden Harleys and horses. Lettered in tennis in high school. I love the outdoors and treasure time spent hunting and fly fishing. My latest interest is guitar. I’m long on enthusiasm but a wee bit short on talent; nevertheless, the journey is gratifying. Blues is my favorite. Not so keen on heavy metal and classical.

Words that describe me: good natured, extroverted (in a good way), sensitive, honest, outspoken, direct, considerate, kind, disciplined, intelligent, educated, interesting, authentic, good-humored, emotionally secure, confident, self-starter, active …. The one compliment I am the proudest of is the acknowledgement of my parenting skills and success as a dedicated loving father. I am most grateful for my good health and two wonderful healthy sons; the rest doesn’t matter.

While it is true that appearance is only skin deep and inner beauty is lasting, for me physical attraction precedes discovery of the inner person. I will be first physically attracted to a woman and then captivated by her personality. In turn, I expect the same to be true for the woman.

I derive pleasure from satisfying my companion in many ways. One of my favorite evenings is to cook a wonderful dinner, dine together by candlelight connecting to one another through conversation and body language. I am a romantic. The discovery phase of a new relationship is magical.

This profile is necessarily about me; however, once we meet it is no longer about me, it will be about us, together.

Favorite Poems: Charge of the Light Brigade by Alfred Lord Tennyson and If by Rudyard Kipling

Favorite Places: Kapiolani Park at sunset; East Oahu ocean flats, Montana, the American West
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying my job, putting my second son through college, and setting myself up to go out and experience activities that I've deferred for a long time. Staying fit.
I’m really good at
I'm a good communicator, a very good writer, good at getting things done. I can separate the important from the unimportant and act.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not egotistical about it, but I do get complimented on my looks often - by both sexes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like blues guitar. And I've started listening to country music in the car. I find rock & roll played on the radio boring. Enjoy most kinds of movies - both "chick flicks" and the more "manly" genre. I get a lift out of romantic comedies where boy gets girl and they live happily ever after. Not a horror movie fan, but did enjoy Saw 1. I thought "Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World" was a great movie.
Six things I could never do without
My sons
My good health
Fly fishing
A female love interest (unfortunately I been without this one for a while)
Work, a purpose, a zest for life
My country
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lots of things .... I spend time analyzing, understanding situations, events in my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm home unwinding from the week. That is not to say that if I had someone to go out and do things with, I would not.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm pretty open. Wish I knew what I know now when I was young. Made a number of bad choices. Like the old joke which is so true: "Too bad youth is wasted on the young!"
You should message me if
You find my profile interesting, like my look and want to meet someone new with the chance that the chemistry will be right.
The two of us