30Memphis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Doug. I am pleased to meet you.

I am in a committed non-monogamous relationship.

I have bipolar depression and anxiety. I do not take medication, but I do go to a therapist regularly. I hesitated to include this information do to misinformation about both manic depression and anxiety disorders.

I am an actor with a BFA in Theatre from the University of Memphis. I worked as a teaching artist at Theatre Memphis for three years.

I am a cigar aficionado. I also do this professionally at Havana Mix Cigar Emporium.

I do not fear God; I fear religion.

I am not a native Memphian, but I consider it home. I've lived in this city longer than any other. In August of 2013, I gave away almost everything I owned and drove out to LA. I stayed there for six months and now I am back.

I am interested in many things people know very little about. I am one of those people that appears smart because of all the obscure knowledge I have, but in actuality I just like studying obscure things. I am enough of a nerd to like the random article button on Wikipedia.

I would like to think that I am more interesting than the average person, but that doesn't mean that I am. However, I find myself extraordinarily fascinating and if you give me the time you will probably think of me as (at the very least) amusing.

I once spent a semester in Arezzo, Italy studying commedia dell'arte, character mask, mime, clown and philosophy.

I like everybody in some way. Some people I just like more then others.

I am doing a show...somewhere. It seems that I always am.

I've lived in ten towns and cities. That's not enough.

I tell bad jokes. Very bad.

I love to cook. I just don't always have the time.

I still daydream at least once a day.

I get deja vu a lot.

I smoke about ten cigars a week.

I've never smoked a cigarette.

No one knows every one of my secrets.

I don't really know all my siblings. I am the middle child of seven kids.

I am quickly losing contact with many good friends.

I ramble.

I am attentive, forgiving, and theatrical.
What I’m doing with my life
I moved to L.A. because a friend of mine sent me a message that read, "Hey, wanna move to Cali with me?" That's a good indicator of the kind of person I am.

Hopefully, I will attend grad school for a Master's in acting or physical theatre. More recently I have started leaning towards physical theatre. I have also thought of going as far as getting a doctorate in dramaturgy, but I doubt I will do that(mostly because I had a professor named Dr. Doug and he is not the person I want to model myself after). I really want to spend several years acting wherever I am asked to be then settle down at a college or conservatory and teach.
I’m really good at
Acting and directing and teaching. I have been in or directed more shows then I can recall.

Mask-making and stilt-walking. I started making masks in 2007 and have since found that I love it and that I am really good at it. I currently make papier mache masks, and recently I learned how to make them in latex. I really want to get into leather though. I started stilt-walking when I was thirteen. I will work for commission to make you a mask, or I can send you pictures of designs that I have and you can buy one of those.

Magic: The Gathering particularly limited formats. I play competitively on a regular basis.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am usually well dressed. I prefer shirts with a collar, and I like to look nice. Of course, I still wear jeans and a t-shirt, but I take care not to wear a black belt with brown boots.

Some people notice my eyes first. I get compliments on them.

Some people notice how carefree I am.

A lot of times my first impression is made on stage. I have had people come up to me and ask me to do a voice that I did on stage or repeat an accent or line.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Terry Pratchett's Discworld books. Everything from Shakespeare to Tolkien. I love some Anton Chekhov, Sarah Ruhl, Arthur Miller, Tom Stoppard, Harold Pinter, John Grisham (especially his non-law books), Hemingway (I like his short stories most), Tennessee Williams, the list goes on. Hell, those were mostly playwrights.

I reread the Harry Potter series at least once a year.

I love all movies. I am a sucker for the classics. Black and white does not mean classic. And I cried when they shot Ol' Yeller(So did you). I haven't been out to see many films recently. IM me if you want to help me rectify this.

I am very eclectic in the music department. I love classic rock, the British Invasion, alternative rock, blues, jazz, and many punk bands as influential as the bands in the Invasion. Folk such as Bob Dylan, Simon and Garfunkel, Don McLean, Joan Baez, and Van Morrison. Johnny Cash, Elvis and Buddy Holly. Billie Holiday, Aretha Franklin, CCR, Bob Marley, Queen, The Doors, and many other groups of less importance and talent. I once got to see Jerry Lee Lewis and Aretha Franklin one after the other on the same stage.

I eat a bit of everything. If you let me into your kitchen I can almost guarantee you that you will be well fed. I make a mean chili, a braise that would make your grandma proud and a raspberry cheesecake that makes you want to get up and slap your momma (but I don't condone such behavior).
Six things I could never do without
Faith. That I would have to explain in more detail then I can possibly fit here.

Friends and Family. I consider my friends an extension of my family. I will go to great lengths to aid anyone that I love.

A Stage. I perform for the love of entertainment, art, and knowledge. Without somewhere to perform, I would not be able to live as I wish.

An Audience. What is the use of playing in the largest theatre when no one can take in the message.

Love. Again, this takes too much room to explain.

Strangers. I love to make new friends and I often strike up conversations with complete strangers.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Theology, acting, writing, friends, family. Where rent is coming from next month. Where I am going to grad school. Whether or not my masks can compete on the already established market. I could go on for ages.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working. It's actually rather bothersome. My social life has become much smaller since I began working full time at the cigar bar.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoy pegging and snowballing.
You should message me if
You are moderately good at tennis and want to play.

You are a bad golfer and want to play(and loan me clubs, I gave mine away when I went to LA).

You can teach me how to ride a unicycle.

You have juggling pins you can let me borrow.

You would like to make-out/sleep with me.

You're interested in swapping books or movies.

You need someone to talk to.

If you play Magic: the Gathering or want to get rid of your old cards I'm interested.

You want to be my sugar momma.
The two of us