49Smithville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a native Texan who remembers when Texas always voted Democrat, and wishes it still did. This is home, but I find myself thinking more and more about going somewhere a bit more open-minded. So far, the Austin oasis has kept me here.

I prefer outside to inside, quiet dinners to crazy parties, fiction to nonfiction, books to ebooks, driving to flying, and beer to wine.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an arborist for a small tree-care company. I take my dogs for walks, eat out, watch netflix, read, play guitar and piano (badly), and sometimes indulge my artistic side with a lathe, welder, or word processor.
I’m really good at
camping, dogs, cookies, fixing things, writing, plants
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like detective/crime fiction (Chandler, Hammett, Rehder, Lansdale, Abbott) and novels (McCarthy, McMurtry, Faulkner, Morrison, Bird) mostly. The higher it went on the bestseller list, the less likely I read it.

Netflix saved movies for me. The theaters got more expensive while their patrons got less courteous. So I haven't seen a lot of current titles, but old favorites include "Little Miss Sunshine," "The Conversation," LOTR, and "Brazil." I can enjoy a pretty lousy comedy or tough-guy movie, but generally try stick to quality films.

I like most kinds of music when done well, but lean toward jazz and rock. Los Lobos is probably my current favorite band. Other favorites include Funkadelic, Zeppelin, Fishbone, Thelonious Monk. I haven't heard any new bands I like in a long time. I guess that means I'm getting old.

I was pretty strictly vegetarian for years, but the rising availability of natural, free-range meat has tempted me off the wagon. I am still mostly vegetarian. I like Mex/Tex-Mex, Indian, Thai, Italian, BBQ.
Six things I could never do without
dogs, cheese, books, trees, coffee, nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
a piece of land in the country, but close enough to the city to get a little culture now and then.
On a typical Friday night I am
playing games with friends or watching a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
privately, there isn't much I won't admit. In this forum, I won't admit much. Let's say . . . I don't like raw onions.
You should message me if
you'd rather discuss the comics than the Top 40. Hell, I don't know, just do it if you want to.
The two of us