62Indianapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Gardening is one of my passions, and I don't wear gloves when I dig in the dirt. Exploring new places, seeing what's around the next corner or at the end of the road is very intriguing to me - I am curious. I also enjoy solitude but would like someone to share that solitude with (I know that sounds a bit contradictory, but aren't we all contradictions?!) Children cause me to laugh. I am in awe of Mother Nature and her wonderful world. I'm not afraid of bugs or spiders (except the ones that are big and hairy and look like tarantulas).

I would like to find a nice single man who appreciates the wonders of nature and who would like to go exploring with me.

Helping the indigent and needy of our society is very important to me - call me a "bleeding heart". I believe that EVERYONE is entitled to health care and that our broken system needs to be repaired, and soon. Wouldn't it be nice if we all cared for one another and did not let greed and power get in the way?! It truly does "take a village" to make life better and safer for all.

I believe in manmade global warming and am scared to death of what our ecological future holds. It is very alarming to me to see how quickly the world climate has changed in such a short amount of time and how short-sighted, greedy, and self-centered the main decision-makers of the world are.

In a more lighthearted tone, I am very sentimental and still have many of my sons' school art work, etc. I have 2 sons, one 24 and the other 26. My youngest son has 2 years left at IU School of Dentistry and is very busy learning to sculpt teeth out of wax, among other dentist-kind of things. My 26 year old has just started back to school to finish his degree in computer science. Both of my sons are very bright (youngest one graduated Salutatorian of his high school class and is a member of Phi Beta Kappa). I'm not a proud momma or anything! ;-) They are both nice people, just wish I could spend more time with them.

My mother is in a nursing home in Bloomington, and I drive down to visit her about once a month to spend an afternoon keeping her company. B-town is where I was born and raised - it has changed immensely since the 70's!!! Too much traffic there these days!

I have a very bossy and vocal cat who keeps me company (the one in my profile pic). I think he is lonely since we moved from the house I co-habitated in with my ex, as we had 4 cats there and now Jesse (my cat) does not have any "brothers" to play with. Not sure I want another cat, though, due to expense and litter pans!

Please drop me a line if any of the above sounds like anything you are looking for in a companion.
What I’m doing with my life
Working full-time as a nurse. In my off time, I enjoy working in my yard and garden and maintaining my house. I am a fitness walker. Finding it challenging to stay within my new budget but try to look at it as a "game" (not sure if I'm winning or not?!). I just joined LA Fitness and am really enjoying it! I prefer walking on an outside walking trail, but the heat outside these days is just too much for me to walk in - AC and a treadmill will have to do for now.
I’m really good at
Gardening, cooking and baking, putting children at ease, typing, fixing things, being compassionate with and putting my patients at ease, being part of a team with all players having the same passion for teamwork. Listening. Singing in the shower.
The first things people usually notice about me
My quirky sense of humor. The way I can make people laugh when they most need it. My empathy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite books change frequently, but I enjoyed "Water for Elephants", "The DaVinci Code", "Angels and Demons", "To Kill a Mockingbird", "The Help", "The Hobbit", "Gone With the Wind". I enjoy most Grisham books. A must-read is "The Watchman's Rattle". I appreciate science magazines.

Movies . . . I just saw the movie, "The Help", and want to see it again! I love the movies "Chocolat", "The Shawshank Redemption", "Edward Scissorhands", "Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?", and most old classic movies from the 30's, 40's, and 50's. I love musicals, live or on film (love to sing along with musicals I know but only at home). I am not a huge fan of violent movies.

TV . . . Science documentaries (Nova, etc), PBS News Hour, Colbert Report, Meet the Press, and local news.

Music . . . lots of different genres, but not really loud music any more as I sat way too close to the stage at many live rock concerts when younger and destroyed my ears!!! Female singers tend to draw my attention more than others - Jennifer Warnes, Cindi Lauper, Jewel at the beginning of her career, Linda Ronstadt, Carol King, Lara Nero, etc. I do enjoy listening to Jason Mraz, and I saw him in concert in September, 2013.
Six things I could never do without
I haven't decided yet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What kind of a relationship I want with a man - haven't really decided and probably won't until I spend some time with him and see what happens.

How I can make a difference.
On a typical Friday night I am
. . . exhausted from a long, busy week at work!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not willing to admit anything to a perfect stranger! :)
You should message me if
You would like to know more about me and would just like to chat a bit to "see what we can see".
The two of us