33 Waterville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
What can I say here...I love BBQ's, board games, volunteering, hiking, camping, disc golf, skiing, civic engagement, gardening, friends, family (we are a scattered bunch), and meeting people who inspire me to continue changing the world to make it a better place.
I'm a Virgo. And if you're into Meyers Briggs I'm an ESFJ.

I'm organized although by the looks of things I guess they're "organized piles" but I know where things are and get things done. I'm a doer - if someone suggests an idea I immediately think about the steps needed to put that idea into action. I am flexible though and can be spontaneous but at my core I am a planner and I like to think ahead. I enjoy "having a plan to diverge from."

I am an activist, a giver, a social worker, sensitive, a lover of sci-fi. I do not shop at Walmart (unless it is the middle of the night and it's a desperate situation). I give to charity. I'd rather wear flats over heels. I love the smell of the ocean.

I feel really serious writing this summary, but I'm actually a pretty laid back person. I have my standards and expectations when it comes to being in a partnership with someone (i.e. open and honest communication, dependability, loyalty, kindness and compassion). I'm also an optimist. I can do this while being a critical thinker. Generally, I think the world is a place of hope and that there is beauty all around if we're open to it. Right now I'm down with a game of minigolf, pool, scrabble, or a cup of coffee with new people.

I'm from Baltimore MD originally and have been living in Waterville, Maine for the last 12 years.
What I’m doing with my life
After earning a B.A. in Human Development I spent 2 years in Americorps working at a couple of non profits, one of which turned into a job researching and developing programs for girls (engaging girls as agents of social change and teaching skills to be critical thinkers, leaders and expand their horizons).
After finishing my masters in Social Work I started working part time as a clinician for individual and family counseling. Unfortunately this means I work 50+ hours during the weekdays and sometimes on a Saturday or Sunday (but I have flex time so I'm not working ALL the time!). I also enjoy volunteering in my community especially in my neighborhood to improve it. I recently joined the Planning Board for Waterville, which is new and interesting. I'm learning a lot about Robert's Rules!
I’m really good at
I'm really good at planning (events, projects, trips), rock climbing, cribbage. I'm really good at laughing at myself. If you're stranded at the airport an hour and half away at 11:00 at night, I'm really good at coming to the rescue as I am a loyal friend. :) I'm really good at listening.
The first things people usually notice about me
My glasses. I used to have a nose ring but had to take it out for work.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorites:

(a)I like to read a lot. I always have a stack of books on my night stand in rotation. Usually a novel or a memoir, an academic book related to my field of work, and something from a book club. Some of my favorites include but are not limited to: Ender's Game, The Giver, Tuesday's With Morrie, and Brave New World.

(b) I enjoy going to the movies and watching a few television series that usually get recommended to my by friends. I haven't had television for 6 years but discovered Netflix a couple of years ago which I like because I can't stand commercials. Some of my current watches are: Princess Bride, Spirited Away, Waking Life, What the Bleep Do We Know, Crash, French Kiss, Running In High Heels, Thelma and Louise, The Big Lebowski, Dr. Who, Star Trek (I'm not a Trekky though - I don't quote it! I just love sci-fi), Bones, Lost, Battlestar Gallactica, 30 Rock.

Generally I like scifi, comedies, some action, and stuff that makes a person think. I like documentaries.

(c) Music: I am a 90's kid so anything from that era is good for me! Jamming out to some 80's is also fun! I love Nora Jones and Ani DiFranco. I'm not a fan of angry aggressive music. The most aggressive I get is Offspring or Metallica. It has it's place for me, but I don't like to listen to it constantly. I love NPR and shows on the radio such as This American Life, Prairie Home Companion and Car Talk.

(d) Anything Thai, Japanese, or Indian. Anything spicy. I love green curry! Seafood! I'm from Maryland and I'm a quarter Japanese so seafood is a staple.
The six things I could never do without
I could never do without:

(1) My day planner - I haven't converted to a blackberry etc. because I like writing it all down.
(2) My cats: Leela, Kali, and Hermes (yes there are 3 - it's a long story)
(3) Family (mostly my two younger brothers who are in the picture with me).
(4) Garden (vegetables mostly)
(5) Camping gear
(6) Toss up between phone or laptop (to stay connected)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What's next on my list of "things to do" that I put off from yesterday. My future and what is going to happen next and how I can improve myself.
If it's nice out I'm thinking about where to go swimming or hiking or when's the next available weekend to go camping/have a BBQ with friends.
I spend time thinking about who I haven't talked to in a while and giving them a call.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends at a restaurant or going to hear a band play or chilling at home watching a show to get some quiet time. While I'm an extrovert and very social (trivia, anyone?!), my jobs require me to be very social and sometimes a night in with a book is a welcomed relief!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Sorry, I really don't have much to say on this because I am a private person until I get to know you.
You should message me if
If you think I'm interesting, are curious, and would like to get to know me better.
If you have goals and are serious about them. (I'm not serious all the time-I love to laugh and have a sense of humor, but if you have goals what are you doing to meet them?)
If you've gone on an interesting hike and would like to make a recommendation. I am always on the look out for a good sushi restaurant.