xp-px
30 Syracuse, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
xp-px
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! My name is Peter, and I'm a theoretical physicist at Syracuse. I'm very new in town (moving in August 1st) after spending 7 years in Eugene, Oregon getting my PhD. In my free time, I run. Following the philosophy of one of my friends in undergrad, I do a lot of races, because there's nothing better to motivate you than thinking "well I mean... I already paid for it..." I've run 7 marathons and one 50k, but due to a pretty bad injury in January, I'm working on getting back in shape for half marathons, then we'll work from there.

I also love hiking. I did quite a bit of it in Oregon, and I hear there's a lot to explore in New York. If you want a hiking buddy to do some of the high peaks in the Adirondacks, I'm down.

I'm fairly close with my family in Seattle, and I plan on visiting them a lot.
What I’m doing with my life
Working in a physics group at Syracuse. The end goal is to be a professor, but I have many backup plans if the only jobs available are in places I don't want to be.

Volunteering is and always has been a huge part of my life. For the past 3 years, that's been serving food in a restaurant for low income and unhoused people in Oregon. If you have any leads for places like that in Syracuse, I am very interested.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh and laughing at my own jokes
The first things people usually notice about me
I've been told I have a nice smile. I've also been told by strangers that I have nice calves. So to the random dude on the bus: thanks?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: My first love is punk, but I listen to a lot of blues, motown, hip hop, and classic rock. Lately though, about 90% of what I listen to is either current pop or EDM. My favorite artists are Shook Ones, Dag Nasty, Cro-Mags, Bane, Joy Division, Funkadelic, Wu Tang, Odesza, and The Stooges

Books: Franny and Zooey and East of Eden are tied for my favorite. I also love David Sedaris

Shows: I don't watch a whole lot of TV, so when I do, I want to laugh. Favorites are It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The Office, Freaks and Geeks, The Daily Show, Bob's Burgers, Love, and Workaholics

Movies: Anything that can make me laugh. Or cry. Those are good too

Food: Mexican is my favorite, but I'll eat pretty much anything
The six things I could never do without
1. Laughter and lots of it
2. Easy access to nature
3. A good book in my backpack
4. A blackboard or white board (my job is literally composed of standing in front of one and pretending to know what I'm talking about)
5. A strong group of friends
6. Running trails
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where to explore
On a typical Friday night I am
I haven't figured that out here yet. It used to be rock climbing, going to concerts, or going out with my friends and dancing like a dad at a BBQ. I like being active, and so I'm not the biggest fan of staying in
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Whenever I'm alone in an elevator, I dance
You should message me if
First and foremost, if you have any interest in hiking some of the Adirondack High Peaks, I need a good hiking partner. That part can be platonic, and in fact I might prefer it that way.

You like nerding out over pretty much anything. You like to joke around a lot, and you don't take yourself too seriously. If you like goofy dudes who can't keep a straight face.

As an aside, I generally like to meet people casually for coffee before we decide whether to go on a real date or not. I'm new in town and I need friends more than I need a relationship
More