28 Houston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been in Houston for nearly 15 years now, but I'm originally from San Francisco, and go back to visit whenever I can.

I love to travel and lived in Manila for several years, as well as briefly in Rome and in Strasbourg. I try to take some kind of big trip at least a few times a year if I can.

I live with two cats. I would say I own two cats, but they're cats, and as such the distinction of owner/owned in the relationship is kind of blurry.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I'm working as operations manager at a brewery in the Heights. I graduated from University of Houston with Bachelors in History and Liberal Studies with minors in Art History and Anthropology, and am taking some time off from school before going back for my Masters. I have been planning on pursuing a Masters in International Relations, but this brewing thing has been kind of working out well for me so far, so I may just stick with that as a career. Oh the joys of being in your late 20s and still not knowing what you're doing with your life.
I’m really good at
Foosball. For some reason I absolutely dominate at foosball. Haven't kept track, but I'm on something like an 800-game winning streak dating back to around 2002.

Writing papers. I can pound out 5-page papers in my sleep. Super useful skill in college. Not really sure how much value it has outside of that.
The first things people usually notice about me
Apparently my voice. I think it's perfectly normal, but I've had quite a few people comment on how deep it is.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Fiction: Anything by Kurt Vonnegut. I'm also a sucker for Russian novels - Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, etc. A Dostoevsky novel is actually where my online name comes from (points to you if you can name it without the help of Google).
Non-fiction: mostly history books, and then mostly relating to Vietnam, Laos, or Cambodia. Sideshow, A Bright and Shining Lie, Masters of War, etc.

Movies: It's easier to just say that if it's made by Francis Ford Coppola, Quentin Tarantino, Guy Richie, Stanley Kubrick, Dreamworks, or Pixar, I like it. There are other movies I like, but I don't like making long lists and having to remember "oh, yeah, that movie that had I think Tom Hanks in it that I saw maybe 10-12 years ago was good..."

TV: Doctor Who, Top Gear, and QI. BBC programming in general, really. Archer (and, by extension, Frisky Dingo and Sealab 2021), Last Week Tonight, and most documentary-style shows (Planet Earth, etc).

Music: Pretty much anything except gangster rap. I don't generally like artists so much as songs. Most artists have some good songs and some shit ones, so I don't make blanket statements about liking specific artists generally. The only band I can point to right now as one I really like across the board is The Family Crest. Everything they've ever put out has been spectacular. I also have a soft spot for small local indie bands. With the exception of The Who and Springsteen, all of the best concerts I've ever been to have been with <300 people in the audience.

Podcasts: The World Next Week, 99% Invisible, The Memory Palace, Song Exploder, and a few others here and there. Those are the four that I'm actually subscribed to and listen to every episode.

Food: I love it. All of it. Anything edible I'll eat and probably enjoy. Except nuts. I just can't stand nuts. No idea why. Vietnamese food I like especially. It's cheap, delicious, healthy, and really readily available throughout the city.

Sports: Hockey above all else. If you're a Sharks fan, you are instantly one of my favorite people.
The six things I could never do without
My friends
Modern plumbing (shower, toilet, etc.)
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at home or out at a bar with a friend. Or in search of really good food.