70 Arcata, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am semi-retired and will tell you about my work when we talk. For now I will say only that my part-time self-employment is a labor of love. As for the rest of my time, I fill it with writing fiction (I'm serious about it), gardening (mostly roses), outdoor life (walking in the beautiful Northcoast, hiking, biking, occasional backpacking and skiing), yoga, and enjoying my kids, grandkids, and wonderful friendship groups, not to mention enjoying my time alone. I am an "ambivert - a blend of extrovert and introvert in roughly equal parts. That's it for now, save for saying that I need to be useful.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a passionate part-time vocation and an even more passionate avocation. For work I am a self-employed mediator. I work with couples seeking to divorce amicably, particularly when it involves children, and I provide this service under contract with Indian tribes. I love it, but I love my avocation even more: writing fiction. For me stories get right to - and closer to - the heart of any matter than discourse. I'll take a good novel over good nonfiction most of the time. There are other good things happening for me: my kids and grandkids who bless my life by being here; my friendships, the natural world; my co-housing community, my roses. I could go on.
I’m really good at
Writing fiction. (I have published several short stories and have written a novel that deserves a home. My work, which involves helping people in difficult situations. Growing roses. Making a nice home. Being devoted to my family and friends. Being a good listener.
The first things people usually notice about me
My friendliness and the way I show interest in other people. I would rather hear about you than tell you about me, but I will do that, too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Best recently read book: Winter's Bone; best movies: A River Runs Through It and To Kill A Mockingbird, two of my favorite books that the movie versions captured with near perfection; music: broad tastes with particular love of simple tunes with lyrics that approach poetry (rare and difficult); food: I eat simply and healthily at home, think my tastes are broad, and have an easier time saying what I don't like.
The six things I could never do without
My kids and grandkids
My friendships
A small town with lots of beautiful nature around it
Writing fiction
Feeling useful
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to spend less time thinking and more time doing.
How to get my hands around experience in the way I do: with narrative (story) rather than discourse and exposition (analyzing things) - It's a different way of thinking that suits me better.
On a typical Friday night I am
In the recent past, my Friday nights have been quiet. It's the one time I permit myself to watch news and special interest shows on public television. I have enjoyed this but would rather spend some of this time with a lovely companion who would want to go out for fine entertainment, travel, play, or enjoy each other quietly.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am open about most things, which will become apparent to you when you meet me. Because the sensitive work I do in a small town means that some people might recognize me here, I would rather be discreet and not answer that publicly. There are quite private things I will tell you about when trust grows or even before. I do take risks when it feels right. So you will hear about the valleys as well as the peaks.
You should message me if
If what I've said appeals to you. If you are a happy, positive person who wants to have authentic intimacy, who wants to get there carefully, who wants to have joyous and serious friendship as the basis for all the possibilities that follow. If you think of yourself as dynamic, peaceful and attractive with a bright light shining from within you. If you love being alive.

"Anywhere" really means Northern California and Southern Oregon.