57San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’ve been in San Francisco’s North Beach for more than 20 years. I love the urban vibe of the city. Here in SF I connect with the intricate detail of old architecture; appreciate that people are moving about the downtown streets at any time of the night; adore the hills with their natural and man-made beauty. I recently walked from my apartment to the Golden Gate Bridge, and across to Marin and back. I hadn’t walked the bridge in years, but every part of it was magical, from the faint vertigo chill in my knees looking straight down at Fort Point, to the wide swath of the bay area to the east, and the setting sun behind the headlands west; all part of my expansive backyard.

That doesn’t mean I’m city bound. One summer in the mid-80s I became part of a four-man crew on 48-foot commercial fishing boat long-lining for black cod along a stretch of the Aleutian Islands. I wanted to visit Alaska and experience life on the sea. Within days the monotony of work from 6 a.m. to midnight seven days a week set in and I longed to get back home (Humboldt State at the time where I received a degree in Journalism). But when I did I was really glad to have memory. The next summer I traveled to Europe for two and a half months. It was good, but I made the mistake of not sticking around one place long enough to feel a connection. Much more recently I hiked the national parks of southern Utah, the Rockies out of a friend’s house in Boulder, and over relatively fresh land on Hawaii’s Big Island. I love how physical exertion makes the surroundings even more beautiful. In June I’ll be visiting my sister in Chesapeake, VA, with a six-day side trip up to DC. I’m going to stay in a hostel for the traveler’s atmosphere. I haven’t done that since my 80s Europe trip.

In between all that I found my birth mother in Kansas City. The reunion after 31 years went so well with her and the rest of her kids I decided to move there for nearly a year to get to know them all better. I have a manuscript ready to be published which chronicles to whole experience. In the meantime I’m completing a screenplay that’s been a blast to compile.

Financially I am self-sufficient. The majority of my income is from rental property I own; to maintain health benefits, I’m working retail. But I’d rather not be doing the retail any longer, which adds incentive to successful writing. But you know the ol' saying, don’t quit your day job till you’ve got something better. For me, that’s the plan.

As part of this summary I can also add that I’m happy, enthusiastically optimistic, love to laugh and make other too, passionate in life and love, very comfortable with who I am, organized (as opposed to what the OKC computer says under the ‘Personality’ tab). I’m great on my own, but sharing magnifies the effect.

In your basket of talent: You’re a woman who is fit, youthful, attractive, appreciates health, energetic, gregarious, open, quick, funny, romantic, outgoing. You could be making a boatload of money or just be doing what you love best.
What I’m doing with my life
Other than what’s above, I’m appreciating the earth and my time on it; doing a lot of biking and hiking, hanging out with friends.
I’m really good at
Making breakfast and dinner; getting lost in a mutually engaging conversation; and these days, getting rid of clutter and stuff I don’t need.
The first things people usually notice about me
Most say my youthful appearance and demeanor, and they’re right. I don’t feel anywhere close to my official age.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS: Crime and Punishment, The Brothers Karamazov, Lady Chatterley's Lover, On the Road.
MOVIES: Fearless with Jeff Bridges, Network, almost anything with William Holden, I'm a guy, so Apocalypse Now, both original and Redux (I can take either side of this debate).
MUSIC: Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones, the Beck station on Pandora, White Stripes, Miles Davis, John Coltrane.
FOOD: Sushi, salmon, really good backyard BBQ with mesquite charcoal, lots of veggies, throw in an occasional medium-rare ribeye, and of course a jammy zin goes with everything.
Six things I could never do without
Large bodies of water, long hikes away from civilization and the views that come with them, a candlelit bath, music (streaming and live), dance floors, love.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lately, finding a potential companion (that’s why I’m here).
On a typical Friday night I am
Nothing is typical Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not ashamed or embarrassed of anything I can think of.
You should message me if
you want to get a cup of coffee and shoot the breeze, get a drink at a neighborhood bar, laugh, share some stories, be pleasantly surprised, grab a bite, paint the town red, go dancing, see a play, become close friends, become passionate lovers (both even better)... You get the idea, it’s kind of wide open.
The two of us