56 Indianapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I enjoy comedy, and have a highly developed sense of humor. I can go high brow or cruder than most people could imagine. I am not much into appearances and am unusually honest, caring, intelligent, and dependable. I drink occasionally, but not to excess. I’m overweight, but still do what I can to stay in shape – I take a lot of nutritional supplements and exercise, and right now I'm on a diet to lose weight for health reasons. I’ve always enjoyed drawing, so for a creative outlet I sell items online with my custom graphics on them.
Things I like do for fun are pretty standard: reading, travel, eat out, movies, canoeing, camping. Some places I’d like to share with a significant other would include New Orleans (as far away from Fat Tuesday as possible), the South Carolina coast, a beachfront condo near Cocoa Beach, snorkeling the Florida Keys, the Current River National Scenic Riverways in Missouri, and Mr. Gyros on 38th Street (this last one is completely optional, but where else are you going to get a foot long polish sausage on a bun with hot peppers??).
If you really want to know what my personality is like, Google “INFJ” and “INFP”, along with “Myers-Briggs Personality Test”. The personality types I have are sometimes referred to as The Healer, The Protector, or The Councilor. Yes, I have a degree in psychology. And another degree in computer programming. As Bluto said in Animal House, "Seven years of college down the drain." ;-)
As far as beliefs go, I only occasionally attend church, but I am basically a quasi-Quaker who also practices Zen. I used to be a Fundamentalist, but Zen mental training caused me to lose certain illusions and just see the stark reality of things. I believe, like Einstein, that "only a life lived for others is worth living". My goal is to become more selfless and purpose-driven.
I am pretty dedicated to doing what I can to stop the spread of domestic violence. For the last 15 years I've been volunteering as a support group facilitator for a program that counsels children who have been in violent homes. This is a very personal issue with me, as both my mother and sister were abused by their husbands, and the effects on my family were devastating.
I have a long term love for Okinawan fighting arts that started when I was in college. I’ve trained in many different styles of karate, as well as jujutsu and traditional weapons. I just wanted to be a good fighter when I was young, but I’ve learned that the real goal of training is to subdue the ego while developing good character. I am a Sandan (3rd degree black belt) in karate, so I am pretty into it. Martial arts training and volunteer work are probably the biggest things I spend time on outside of work.
I often describe myself as A Lesbian Feminist Trapped In A Man's Body. I can tell you honestly that I'm looking for an equal partner, not a plaything. I sometimes joke that I spend all my free time trying to make myself a better citizen, but unfortunately, there's a lot of truth in it. In any case, I’ve now decided to experiment with a dating site just to see what happens. Maybe I’ll get to have some fun before I die. Maybe. ;-)
What I’m doing with my life
Software development is my livlihood, but it's not my life. I spend most of my time outside of work volunteering and studying martial arts. I am either making the world a better place, or making myself a better person, with varying degrees of success.
I’m really good at
Being dependable. If I say I'm going to do something, I'm going to do it. Unless I'm in the hospital. As far as skills go, I'm good at drawing and programming, and I know a lot of jokes.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't look a whole lot like James Bond. If people hang around long enough they might notice my sense of humor and honesty.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Bible, anything on Zen, science fiction, graphic novels, domestic violence, martial arts.
Movies: Any GOOD movie, i.e., directed by Clint Eastwood, Scorsese, etc.. Favorites are Casablanca, Million Dollar Baby, Forbidden Panet.
Music: Adult alternative like Sheryl Crow, Melissa Ethridge, Los Lonely Boys, Train, Wallflowers, etc. Also blues such as Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, B.B. King.
As for food, I like anything that would piss off my cardiologist, although I don't eat as much of it as I used to.
The six things I could never do without
Trust in God, helping others, my convertible, my family, martial arts training, CNN Headline News.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Ways to help people, martial arts training, current events.
On a typical Friday night I am
Watching Comedy Central and Real Time with Bill Maher at home. I'm trying to get a life, but I've got a DVR now, soooo.....
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My sister was murdered by her husband after many years of abuse. It ruined my mother's life, and I want to keep it from happening to anyone else.
You should message me if
You are an independent woman who thinks that she deserves a man who would be nice to her. It would also be helpful if you were somewhat philanthropic and have an intense dislike for Rush Limbaugh. Though it's not absolutely necessary.