54Lehigh Acres, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Summing myself up in a few words? Poly, kinky, rope bondage, gamer, geek, and folkie? Yeah, that works, but doesn't *really* tell you all that much. Lets try a different approach:

Summing myself up in a few sentences? That's like trying to cram Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series into an old Ace paperback. There's a lot of story and it just doesn't fit in a small space. But it's worth a try:

First, there's the name. I'm Steve. Hi there! Pleased to meet you. The "knotsteve" nickname comes from my kinky rope bondage side I mentioned above -- it's the online nickname I use for all my kink sites (including fetlife).

Next up, there's the appearance. Okay, that's better summed up in some pictures. You know, the ones above? Click on them. They're more than just pretty faces. I've uploaded some more recent ones so you can get a better picture of what I look like today. (Most of the pictures I have taken of me lately contain women in rope and are very NSFW, so I can't upload them here -- but I have a number of them on fetlife if you have an account there...) I do have a decent amount of extra padding but I don't let that stop me, and I definitely don't look anything close to my age.

I'm a quiet, nice, helpful guy, although with that kinky side and a warped sense of humor. I'm a bit shy until I get to know someone, which you wouldn't guess by this profile. (I guess I know my computer well enough to not be shy with it...)

I'm also a computer and gaming geek. I've worked as a programmer my entire career (at a single awesome company most of that time, although now I'm an independent contractor...), and still occasionally program on my own for fun. Macintosh computers are my favorites, but I'm a fan of using the best tool for the job at hand, so have Windows and Linux machines around as well. (Although lately I've become a big fan of running Windows and Linux in virtual machines on my Mac... :D )

My gaming interests range from computer games (mostly strategy games or RPGs, and online MMOs like SWTOR, and ESO), to board games, card games, tabletop role playing games, and some theatre-style LARPs. (I've even helped write some...)

But that doesn't mean I'm not active in other areas. I like contra dancing and used to go every week until foot and shoulder injuries stopped me -- I hope to start again sometime soon. I sometimes also go english country dancing, although that's less predictable. I played the hammered dulcimer and the mountain dulcimer (until the shoulder problems), which are completely unrelated instruments except for the name. (How do you tell the difference? A hammered dulcimer burns longer... :P ) I used to dabble in the SCA, although I mainly only do dancing, music, and archery there - still do on rare occasions.

I also like to travel, and enjoy amusement parks, renaissance faires, and cruises. I used to live in the Philadelphia area and still visit the region often, but now I live in the Fort Myers area most of the time.

And that just scrapes the surface. Barely.
What I’m doing with my life
Expanding my horizons. In the last fifteen years, I've made major changes in my lifestyle. I bought a house, started getting involved in the folk music scene, expanded my circle of friends, adopted a whole lot of new hobbies and activities, became very active in the kink scene, and began to travel more.

I look back at who I was before all of that and don't recognize him anymore. I'm sure he thought he was more or less happy with who he was, but I simply have trouble imagining it. I *know* I'm much much happier with who I am today than with that guy. And I'm not done expanding my horizons yet. Who knows what tomorrow will bring, but I'm looking forward to it.

Right now I'm beginning to search for more serious relationships and local play partners. Most of my existing partners have been in the Mid Atlantic region, but now I live in southwest Florida, and finding new partners there has been difficult. I've found play partners at the local kink parties, but nobody I can have an actual relationship with.
I’m really good at
I'm extremely good with Computers and Programming and Gaming. (Oh my!) Lots of years of practice.

Likewise I'm extremely good with rope. Again, years of practice, and a lot of imagination. I'm very proud of some of the new rope suspension techniques I invented in recent years - and am teaching classes in them now.

Contra Dancing, on the other hand, I'm really good at, but it came naturally to me, as if I'd been doing it for ages. Although people sometimes look at me funny when I say I'm an "excellent swinger" -- I'm not exactly sure why... (I've not done much contra dancing lately, though, due to a series of injuries over recent years. It's something I'd like to resume again soon, though.)
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile or my hair. I get comments on the smile a lot, and I've sometimes had random women run their hands through my hair when I'm out at a crowded venue. (I have NO idea why...) When they get a bit closer, my pretty blue eyes get their attention.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
a) Books: I love sci-fi and fantasy and have a pretty big library of books at home. (A whole bedroom is dedicated to it.) It's hard to narrow down my likes to specific books. I love series (LOTR, Discworld, Wheel of Time, Song of Ice and Fire, and Harry Potter to name a few), and almost anything by certain authors. (Robert Heinlein, Larry Niven, David Brin, Marc Steigler, Neil Gaiman, Neil Stephenson, again to name just a few.) I could go on and on here...

b) Movies: The sci-fi and fantasy themes continue here, along with adding some anime, other animation and drama to the mix: LOTR, Star Wars, Nausicaa, Laputa, The Incredibles (actually, nearly anything by Pixar), Beauty and the Beast, Titanic, 1776, Harry Potter, The Mask. TV: Babylon 5, Firefly, Buffy, Lost, 24, Alias, Battlestar Galactica, the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe. And I also enjoy live musical theatre: Wicked, Les Miserables, Phantom of the Opera, Urinetown. Again, barely scratches the surface.

c) Music: My musical interests are eclectic at best. A lot of what I listen to comes from my contra dancing interests, so is mainly reels, jigs, waltzes, and other dance music. (Crowfoot, Wild Asparagus, Groovemongers) Some of it comes from my own instrumental playing. (No Strings Attached) Irish music, celtic music (Loreena McKennitt), other folk music, ren faire music (Empty Hats), and funny music (Weird Al Yankovic) are all good. Add a dash of classical, and a smattering of 50s (doo wop, Brylcream) through 70s stuff, simmer over a slow fire, and you have my music collection. I'm pretty much out of touch with popular music from the early 80s onwards.

d) Foods: Pizza, Pasta, Chocolate, and way too many other things that aren't good for me...
Six things I could never do without
Computers, friends, music, games, kink, sex. Not necessarily in that order.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Sex, of course. (Doesn't everyone here?) Politics quite a lot over the last several years. What new thing I'm going to try next, or new place I'm going to travel.
On a typical Friday night I am
At the movies, spending time with friends, otherwise at home reading or watching TV.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a perverted, lecherous, kinky, dirty old man. :D

Seriously, though, I *am* very kinky. I'm excellent at rope bondage and suspension, which is my primary kink, although I have other kink interests as well. I have a sensual sadistic side which comes out with people who like that (I'm very good with violet wands, fire play, and forced orgasms with a Hitachi magic wand :D ), and a dominant side which again comes out with the right people.

I'm highly active in the scene, and attend anywhere from 6 to 10 major kink events each year, and frequently teach rope and suspension classes at them. I've developed an advanced dynamically mobile suspension technique which allows a huge range of motion (including unlimited forward and backwards rotation), and lately have been teaching classes in the new technique.

Finally, I'm non-monogamous with strong poly tendencies. I don't think I'd be able to have a purely monogamous relationship, and I try to make that clear up front.
You should message me if
You read this profile. Come on -- you know you want to.

Okay, seriously, you should email me if you are into any of the things I've mentioned above and want to talk about it. Or if you think we'd make good friends. Or if you live somewhere relatively close to me and think we'd make a good couple. Or if you think we'd make out. Or if you're cute and want to be tied up. Or if you have any questions -- I answer all questions, honestly and in detail. (So be sure you *really* want to know... :-)

For that matter, I'll answer all messages, questions or not. Except from women who live in Russia and send me a form message which wants me to click on a link to bring me to a website for mail order brides... If I wanted a mail order bride, I'd get one the old fashioned way - through the mail. Maybe if they called it an E-Mail order bride? But I digress.
The two of us